Tags

, ,

I feel as though I’m in a constant state of flux. As a type A planning fiend, I tend to set a plan and if anything gets messed up with that plan I freak out, certain that everything is now going to be ruined.

I’m trying to let go of that mentality and be more flexible. Some days it works. Some days it doesn’t.

One thing that has been a constant with me is post-run yoga. It is part of my plan. A part that I do not deviate from. With my recurring plantar fascia issues, yoga is the one thing that really helps me to keep it under control and keep my feet healthy.

Yoga is yoga, right?

Ummm. Maybe not.

The yoga that I have always done post-run is designed specifically for runners, and I found it here. It has been effective.

Recently a group of my friends have joined a yoga challenge. It’s a 30 day Yoga Camp.

Yoga is yoga, right?

So I’ve been doing my yoga camp after each workout instead of my recovery yoga. I’ve felt OK about doing this until now. I had an epiphany last night as I was laying in bed fighting off muscle cramps in my hamstrings and calves. All yoga is not created equally. There is a very specific reason I was doing the recovery yoga after my runs. It came screaming through loud and clear last night that I need to go back to that.

See me evolving? Not freaking out. Just learning that something isn’t working and being OK changing up the plan mid-stream. My yoga camp is its own workout, better suited to a cross training day, rather than a post-run stretch.

Noted.

Moving along now.

