Tags

, ,

I officially (and I use that term loosely) started my 10k training on July 20th. I was originally going to start on June 29th, but then we scheduled an impromptu reunion. So I was going to start on July 6th, the day after our reunion. But there was still family in town and I was back and forth between my house and the city. So I said for sure that I was going to the 10th… For. Sure!! And yet, for one reason or another, it didn’t happen. So I went to my calendar to the day of my race. I started counting backwards twelve weeks to find out when the absolute drop dead date was that I could start my training and finish. That date was July 27th, but I didn’t want to push it that close. I wanted to have that extra week of cushion room, so I started on July 20th.

The first day of my training plan I got up before work to run because I wasn’t sure what the day would hold. My sister called to tell me of Dad’s death rattles and that he would be dead before the week was up so I did the first three days of my training in the morning just in case I had to bee-line into the city.

Dad died on the 23rd. I took my workout clothes with me and had the idea that I would do my workouts in the morning at the hotel. I must have been delusional. The funeral was on the 29th and throughout that week time span I did not run once. I didn’t even think about putting on my running clothes. All I wanted to do was be with my family.

So here we are at week 3 of the training plan. I looked over what this week held, and since I had chosen the beginners version of training rather than an intermediate level, I felt fairly confident that I could step into week 3 and have no adverse effects. I think it’s gonna work!

I feel like I’ve got my life back a little bit. And, as luck would have it, I started back in on my training on the freaking hottest day in the history of ever! Not really, but I love a good whine.

I’ve had to adjust my workout plan a little bit because my weekends are still pretty tricky, and volleyball will be starting up again in two weeks (THREE nights a week, plus a 10k training plan – I may have lost my damned mind). But I am on it! My run felt good, albeit hellishly hot, and that’s all I want. I just want it to not kill me.

So….for the final time, for real this time, I am getting started on my 10k training program! Come hell or high water, the plan is going to stick. If not, I’m going to be in a world of hurt come October!

Someone please tell me I’m not the only one who has to restart training plans a hundred times before getting it done!!

