Tags

,

Yesterday was Global Running Day. Even though I’m nursing an injured knee and know that I should not have gone for a run to honor it, I did.

It was stiff for the first half mile and then started loosening up. But then it started feeling not so great. So I stopped running at a mile and a half and leisurely walked home.

I see you there doing the math.

So….if it was sore at 1/2 mile and you stopped running at a mile and a half, that means you….carry the 2, add the stupidity…got it….you continued running for a mile when you knew it was sore.

Why, yes. Yes, I did.

Was is smart? No.

Do I regret it? Yes.

Will I ever ever ever do something like this again? No. But probably yes.

One could say I’m not the sharpest tool in the shed. One would not be far off base.

So I got home from my run/walk, took some Aleve, put my leg up, and iced, iced, iced.

The kitty was helpful. And confused.

I’m not even going to say “*shrug* – lesson learned” because I know me. I know it’s VERY hard for me to stay down when I need to stay down. But I’m working on it. It’ll be only biking and swimming so I have zero impact on my knee until it gets better (or until leg 14 comes along, whichever happens first). Because come hell or high water, I will finish all three legs of my race!

