Tags

If you want to know how to rile me up quicker than just about anything when you’re talking with me, complete a sentence with “for a woman your age.”

Wow – you look great (for a woman your age)

You’re pretty strong (for a woman your age)

You did an awesome job on that race (for a woman your age)

You sure do have a lot of energy (for a woman your age)

You get my drift, right?

Turns out that “for a woman your age” is a real thing. I read this article and found it interesting. To sum up:

In your 20s you should be able to…

  • Run 5km in 30 minutes
  • Do 20 burpees in a row
  • Hold a full plank for one minute

In your 30s you should be able to…

  • Run a mile in less than 9 minutes
  • Hold a plank for 45 seconds
  • Deadlift more than 50 percent of your bodyweight

In your 40s you should be able to…

  • Sprint for 60 seconds without stopping
  • Do 10 press-ups without stopping
  • Touch your toes comfortably with straight legs

In your 50s you should be able to…

  • Run at a moderate pace for 60 seconds without stopping
  • Do five burpees without stopping
  • Lower yourself into a cross-legged position on the floor without using your hands, and then return to standing

In your 60s you should be able to…

  • Regularly take more than 10,000 steps in a day
  • Do 12 bodyweight squats without stopping
  • Touch your fingertips with one hand over your shoulder and the other behind your back

In your 70s you should be able to…

  • Walk a mile in less than 16 minutes
  • Climb a flight of stairs with 10 steps in under 30 seconds comfortably
  • Rise to stand from a chair without using your hands or arms, and repeat at least 12 times in 30 seconds

Well, what do you know! I’m NOT pretty good “for a woman my age.” I’m pretty good for a woman in her 40s (and possibly her 30s). So go ahead…. tell me what I should be able to do for a woman my age.

What are your thoughts? Do you think this is an accurate portrayal through the generations? Keep in mind, I’m looking at the 80/20 rule – “normal/healthy” people. Whatever normal is!!

