Tags

, , , ,

On December 26th I began the journey towards training for my Iron Cowboy. Building up workout minutes. Building up mileage. Building up seat resistance to the horrid saddle on my bike. Building up strength to withstand the grueling training that I’m about to embark on.

Ten weeks later, I have reached my official “Start training my ass off” date.

Last week I took a recovery week. I had been training for nine weeks straight and when my two rock star sisters heard that they both emphatically stated that I needed to take recovery weeks at least every two to three weeks.

Noted.

So last week I recovered. This meant yoga. Yoga. More yoga. And just for good measure, a little bit more yoga. And a massage. It felt really good to find a peaceful place inside my very overactive brain. I spent a week taking care of my tired body and exhausted mind.

I feel like I learned a lot about myself during this very introspective week. I feel ready to get back to work. Actually, I’m chomping at the bit to get back to it. I didn’t realize how difficult it was going to be on me emotionally to not be working out.

This month my schedule will be:

  • 3/6 – Hill repeats
    • 10 minute warm up
    • 1 minute hill
    • 4 minute recovery
    • Repeat 6 times
    • Cool down = Yoga camp day 11
  • 3/7 – Strength
    • 10 minute warm up on the rowing machine
    • 3 sets of 10
      • lat pull downs
      • tri pull backs
      • flies
      • dumbell squats
      • pushups
      • single leg squats
      • hanging leg raises
    • Cool down = yoga camp day 12
    • Volleyball (or as I call it on Tuesday nights – social hour)
  • 3/8 – Rest day (with a little volleyball thrown in as an active recovery)
  • 3/9 – Bike & Run
    • Bike – cardio intervals
      • warm up easy pace 10 minutes
      • 5 min @12mph
      • 2 min @9mph
      • Repeat 5 times (minimum ride will be to governor’s bench and back – workout will be done and will give me time for a brief cooldown before I start my run)
    • Transition to run – speed intervals
      • 2 min run @11:30 pace
      • 2 min walk
      • Repeat 8 times (32 minutes)
      • Cool down = yoga camp day 14 (23 min as opposed to day 13’s 35)
  • 3/10 – Rest day. REAL rest day. Will probably have a glass of wine with dinner.
  • 3/11 – strength and run
    • Strength = 3/7’s ritual
    • Run = Luck o’ the Irish 5k done in 2/2 intervals
    • Cool down = yoga camp day 13
  • Then just for fun I’m heading to my mom’s house to start repairing her retaining wall.
  • 3/12 – Swim & bike
    • Swim – intervals
      • 10 minute warm up – easy swim 200m
      • 50m sprint free
      • 25m recovery
      • 50m sprint breast
      • 25m recovery
      • Repeat 3 times
      • Cool down – easy swim 200m
    • Bike – hills
      • 10 mile loop from Bryce (co-worker’s son who plotted out a short and long route that includes plenty o’hills)
      • Cool down = yoga camp day 15

Approximately 382 minutes, not including warm ups/cool downs/yoga. This is just over 6 hours for the week.

Week 2 is VERY similar to week one except my Monday run is a tempo run, not hill repeats, and Saturday I’m foregoing my strength training because I will need to get to my mom’s house as soon as possible to take care of her retaining wall.

Week 3 is VERY similar to week one and two except interval times and segments are adjusted.

Week 4 is recovery week, and if I stay on schedule, I will finish up my 30 day yoga camp by the end of the week.

Since the end of December I have been doing a very modified version of this plan. Shorter hill repeats. Two-a-days only occasionally. Fewer reps, lower weights on strength days. Some strength days I have only done body-weight things (burpees, mountain climbers, pushups, etc). Truth be told, it is very likely that I won’t be able to make it to the gym on strength days and will do a modified workout at home with what I have available there.

I’m determined to not get so hung up on the plan, that I can’t bend when something comes up. I’m determined to better manage my expectations so that I don’t completely fall apart if something doesn’t go exactly perfectly. I’m determined to listen to my body. this is something I didn’t do in the first ten weeks and I gotta admit, I was burning out.

I have made adjustments on MFP for calorie intake and tweaked my macro goals. I’m a little stressed about this part of the training, but I know that I can’t keep up with this on fewer than 2000 calories a day. So I gulped, and made the change and planned my weekly menu accordingly. THIS will be the part I freak out about the most.

I feel like I have mish-mashed the multitude of plans I have researched into a workable schedule for my specific needs. I know where I’m prone to injury and I feel like I have made a plan that will lower my risk for re-injuring my plantar fascia tendon.

So….here we go!

week1-4

 

Beer me strength!

 

 

