Tags

It’s been a few days since I initially freaked out over my Biggest Loser challenge at work. There are just so many other things to freak out over, so I’ve cooled my jets a bit.

I have not been able to get out of my head some machine telling me that I need to lose 85 pounds, so I began doing a little bit of research into the machine that we are using to measure percentage of body fat. As it turns out, my tech who told me that number – that insane 85 pound number – was the amount I needed to lose was wrong.

He.

Was.

Wrong!

What that 85 means is that out of my total body weight 85 pounds of it is fat. Now, this doesn’t make me feel a ton better because that’s a helluva lot of fat. But if I take my total weight and my body fat percentage, it comes out to right about 85.

This is logical.

I don’t like the number. But the reason for the number now has a logical meaning and it makes sense and I’ve calmed down.

What wasn’t logical was someone (or some machine) thinking that I needed to lose 85 pounds and THEN I would be healthy. I couldn’t process that, so I obsessed over it.

I am no longer obsessing about it. I’m not longer freaked out by it. I am just going about my business of trying to eat as well as I can, exercises in a fashion that I need to, and continue my journey towards being stronger.

Crisis Averted!

