Tags

, , ,

I’m not a New Year’s Resolution person. Never really have been. (Yes, I know I’ve talked about this recently.) I’m more of a “Let’s avoid the gym at all costs during January and February” mocker of newyearsresolutioners. Cynical much?

Yup! Always!

I am the type of person that charts everything. I mean EVERYTHING! I love data. I’m pretty sure I’ve mentioned this before. I love to see progress through the data. I get frustrated when I see digression through the data. But that’s life. We have highs and lows. Ebbs and flows. Nothing is perfect all the time. My goal is always to be better tomorrow than I am today. My goal is to try and be positive when things don’t go the way I think they should.

My goals are fluid. There is always something to improve on and do better. So that’s what I focus on. I don’t make a big, grand statement about losing a hundred pounds or saving a million bucks. I try to be realistic about how I decide to proceed with my year.

All that being said….

Last year I set a goal to run/walk 300 miles. From January 1st to December 31st I wanted to do 300 miles. I thought it was a good amount to keep me motivated to move. My Garmin Connect keeps track of it all with each run I log. It’s easy. All I had to do was hit the bricks.

When I completed that goal (two weeks ahead of schedule, thankyouverymuch) I began thinking about what I wanted to do this year. As you may or may not have noticed, I’ve been slightly obsessed with my Iron Cowboy event that’s coming up in July. Everything is centered around that. I started looking at my training schedule just for that event. I started looking at other races that I’ve got scheduled for the year. I started doing math. MATH!! What is it with me and math lately? It seems like I’ve been doing a lot of it.

One of the girls on my Iron Cowboy team mentioned in our facebook group that she has joined a 1000 mile challenge. I immediately laughed. One thousand miles is completely insane!

But there’s that doggoned math popping around in my head so I went back to my training sheets. Did more calculations. Wondered if it was even possible. And then I did it. I went onto my Garmin Connect and set my annual fitness goals:

garmingoals

Do the math, guys. That’s ONE THOUSAND MILES!!!! A thousand! That’s insane! I came up with these numbers based on just my workout plan between now and my event in July, plus the two races that I’ve already got scheduled. In my Polyanna brain, I should complete this well before the year is out. But my Polyanna brain is logical enough to know that setbacks will most likely occur.

This is a scary number to me. But then again, the Iron Cowboy is a scary event to me. I feel kind of like a bit of a rock star that these numbers are even something that my body can do. Six years ago (nearly seven), this kind of a fitness endeavor would have never entered my mind. Hell, for that matter, just last year I was overwhelmed at the thought of 300 miles.

This thousand miles represents so much to me. I look at those three little boxes and I’m reminded of two weeks doing nothing because I had a catheter attached to me. I’m reminded of a sudden 50 pound weight gain. I’m reminded of being able to do nothing but a slow walk. I’m reminded of a long, slows, grueling recovery. I’m reminded of going through hell and back and not thinking I would ever be my normal self again. I’m reminded of some pretty dark times when I had given up on myself as an athlete; as a person. I think back on that hopelessness that I felt back then and can’t believe that was even a part of my history.

Today I feel strong. I feel like I can do anything that I set my mind to. I feel like I have no limitations. I feel like I can dream about a thousand miles and make it into a reality.

Do I make New Year’s Resolutions? No. I don’t. But I sure as hell know how to challenge myself!

