Winning, Part Deux

Remember this?

Well.

One of the girls that plays on my co-ed competitive team is the team captain of the team who consistently wins the T-shirts in my women’s leagues. We’ve been friends for quite a while.

Last night she said that two of her girls were dropping from her team and she needed to find good replacements, and if I felt like jumping ship from my current team…. wink, wink, nod, nod.

I immediately said, “I’ve played with my team for nearly 20 years. As long as they’re together I’ll be playing with them.”

She goes, “I know. But I had to ask. Keep it in mind.”

The uber competitive side of my brain is going to kick me in the ass for saying no, but the freakishly loyal side of my brain is going to drag my body out to volleyball tonight and settle in for a great time and lots of laughs with my girls.

I will say that it feels good to still be a viable option for a team that is in the championship game each season.

Leave a Reply

