Tags

Do you ever have those days where you just get the munchies and only baking something yummy will help?  Just me? OK.

Today was one of those days.

I have all my Christmas baking things bought, but haven’t felt like making Christmas goodies, so they’re all just kinda sitting there gathering dust.

With the munchies in full swing, I began going through pinterest to try and find something suitable. I had a package of cream cheese left out from lunch (cream cheese in celery sticks) so I wanted to find something to use the rest of the package.

I found a really yummy looking lemon bar recipe but it called for a lemon cake mix. I have a variety of cake mixes so I went to the cupboard to check. No lemon. However, I had something a little better.

Funfetti.

It was left over from Matt and Janel’s wedding, because aren’t all wedding cakes made with funfetti?

With a wire whisk, mix 1 egg, 1/3 cups oil, and 1 cake mix. I added a little lemon juice (about a tablespoon) since they were supposed to be lemon bars. It’ll be crumbly. Set aside about a cup of this mixture for the topping and press the rest of it into a greased 9×13 cake pan.

20151206_142441.jpg

Bake that at 350 for 12 minutes.

While the “crust” is baking, mix together one 8 ounce package of cream cheese, 1 egg, 2 tablespoons of lemon juice, 1 teaspoon lemon zest, and 1/3 cup sugar.

When the “crust comes out of the oven, pour the cream cheese mixture over the top and spread evenly. Then sprinkle the crumbles that you set aside evenly over the top and put it back into the oven for 15 minutes.

You’re supposed to let it cool for ten minutes, but who can really wait for 10 minutes after something yummy comes out of the oven?

20151206_163827.jpg

Not me! It was delicious. The perfect appetizer for the chili that’s been simmering in the crock pot all day long!

My house smells delicious.

