Tags

, , ,

So, remember how I told you I was super stiff on Friday? Turns out that the stiffness is more than just soreness from a difficult workout. It’s inflammation from not keeping proper form during a difficult workout. And it is painful!

Today is supposed to be my cross training day, which meant another round of the Iron Strength I did on Tuesday. Yeh, that’s not going to happen. I have been completely sidelined trying to get my back up to par (or at least close) so that I can sit in a car for 18 hours without dying.

This was my day yesterday:

  • Double dose of Aleve at 4 in the morning (previous dose had worn off because I took it the moment I got home from work on Friday).
  • Therma pack on the back to heat it up and get the blood flowing into the muscles and joints.
  • Gentle yoga sequence to try and keep some sort of range of motion.
  • Ice pack strapped to my back to help reduce swelling.
  • Lots of water to keep hydrated to help promote healing.
  • Hot tub to get a sort of massage on the lower back and get blood flowing again
  • More yoga.
  • More ice.
  • More water.
  • More therma pack.
  • More yoga.
  • More water.
  • More ice.
  • More hot tub.
  • More Aleve.
  • More
  • More
  • More….

By the end of the day I was so tired of changing clothes getting in and out of the hot tub I was ready to just start going in butt nekkid. But then my daughter showed up so I spared her all o’ that!

I took a short, slow walk around the mall just to move. My back feels so much better when I’m walking. Sitting and standing are real killers.

This morning I woke up without stabbing pain in my back and I could lie in bed comfortably, which is a huge improvement from yesterday morning. It is still painful to sit, and I’ve got 4 hours in the car today because we’re meeting my brother in law and his family for dinner. I’m doing a heat/yoga/ice/hot tube regimen prior to heading to the city. Fingers crossed!

I don’t know when I’ve had this much pain. It gives me sympathy for my friends who deal with chronic back pain. Oh my god, I could not handle this as a chronic nature. I’m normally a pretty quick healer, and hopefully this little glitch in my life is short lived so that I can get back to my normal workout routine. I hate being sidelined, and I just want to be able to take a deep breath without pain in my back!

wpid-20151121_115309.jpg

We call this….ICE PACK BUTT!

Fingers crossed for a short-lived injury.

