Tags

, ,

I saw this on Pinterest and it struck a chord with me.

it hurts now

It hurts now, but one day it’ll be your warm up.

My normal warm up and cool down consists of a brisk walk. That’s the way that it’s always been. Warm up and cool down means that you’re lowering your heart rate and easing back into normal life. Walking seems to be the best way to do that.

For my workout tonight I did speed work. Warm up (9 minutes brisk walking). Intervals (2 minutes Z4/1 minute Z2) repeated six times. Cool down. Well, the cool down was going to be 15 minutes of walking. I began my cool down and after a minute I felt like it wasn’t enough, so I broke into a jog. WEIRD! I jogged a mile for my cool down.

It was one of those things that helps me remember that I am getting stronger and that as much as this process is still hard, I’ve come a long way.

So yeh…I jogged a mile for a cool down and it didn’t hurt!

