Do you ever get stuck in a rut with your workouts? I’m pretty sure that I’m not the only one who tends to do the same things over and over and over again.

With the family fitness challenge that Mark and I are doing, our task for this week is to get outside of our comfort zone and do something that we haven’t done in awhile. I know that it’s good for my body to switch things up every now and again, but I just don’t think to actually do it. But I decided that I’d take the challenge to heart and do something that I haven’t done for ages.

Enter – the rollerblades!

wpid-1422313312603.jpg

Awkward!

Since it’s been so many years since I’ve skated, I started off nice and easy, arms outstretched for balance, the occasional bobble as I got used to being on wheels. Kind of like riding a bike, it only took a short amount of time to get back into the swing of things and I was able to get into a smooth forward motion.

Did you know that you use different muscles for skating than you do for running? It’s true. My glutes and inner thighs were on fire. Fi-YAH! I was feeling very satisfied with the workout that these different muscles were getting.

Every now and then a leaf would blow in front of me and it would cause a distraction enough to where my balance was questionable and I’d have to go through certain contortions to remain upright. It was definitely not a workout that allowed my mind to wander freely. It took some major concentration.

About a mile down the path I turned around to head back. I had planned on doing this down and back path twice so that I could get four miles of skating in before I called it quits. My skates had other plans. I had just turned around and felt my rhythm completely fall out of whack. Every time I would push off with my left foot it would kind of catch hold of the concrete, which was really hindering my ability to stay upright. I stopped so that I could see what was causing this issue and found that the front wheel on the left skate had busted.

wpid-1422313940377.jpg

So much for an outside the box workout. So I pulled them off and walked back to my car in my stocking feet.

I guess I’ll try again another day. It’s supposed to be nice later this week so I’ll take my bike out on the trail. I haven’t ridden since….well, since I don’t know when. That’ll have to be my Plan B.

What are some of your “out of the norm” workouts? I need inspiration!

