The other day I posted a picture of my lunch on Instagram, with the caption that I really wanted a Steak and Shake garlic burger.

wpid-20150119_115203.jpg

 

My lovely daughter chimes in with something to the effect that I could make it myself!

Well, God forbid I back away from a challenge.

First off, I put some asparagus into a saucepan to let it simmer while I fixed dinner.

I buttered each side of a whole wheat bun and put some diced garlic on it (I buy pre-diced garlic because I'm lazy).  Then I put the buttered sides together and wrapped it in plastic while I began dinner.

I buttered each side of a whole wheat bun and put some diced garlic on it (I buy pre-diced garlic because I’m lazy). Then I put the buttered sides together and wrapped it in plastic while I began dinner.

Sprinkled a couple of fresh ground pork burgers with some mesquite spices. Throw them in a frying pan on medium heat. I'd have used medium high, but I pulled the patties out of the freezer and I didn't want it to burn on the outside since I didn't thaw them ahead of time. While they were slow-cooking I started sauteeing the slivered onions and garlic.

Sprinkled a couple of fresh ground pork burgers with some mesquite spices. Throw them in a frying pan on medium heat. I’d have used medium high, but I pulled the patties out of the freezer and I didn’t want it to burn on the outside since I didn’t thaw them ahead of time. While they were slow-cooking I started sauteeing the slivered onions and garlic.

Once they were tender I tossed in some sliced baby bellas and spinach and continued cooking until the spinach was wilted and mushrooms were tender. I flipped the burgers and topped it with pepper cheese.

Once they were tender I tossed in some sliced baby bellas and spinach and continued cooking until the spinach was wilted and mushrooms were tender. I flipped the burgers and topped it with pepper cheese.

I put the buns butter side down into the hot frying pan and lightly toasted them, grilled cheese sandwich style.

I put the buns butter side down into the hot frying pan and lightly toasted them, grilled cheese sandwich style.

Then I assembled everything. Sauteed baby red potatoes for a side. Perfectly steamed asparagus for a side. And this.

Happy momma is happy.

Happy momma is happy.

