Tags

,

After a sluggish holiday season, I finally got on the treadmill last night. My bright, shiny, new treadmill that has actual PROGRAMS so that I don’t have to track minutes to do my intervals. It felt good. Actually, it felt great. To just run. Weird little Fartlek-type intervals. But it was running.

At work today I was having a conversation with one of my colleagues and we were discussing our workouts. She’s a yoga instructor on the side so I usually have questions for her when I don’t quite “get” a pose. We discuss fitness fairly regularly. When I expressed my elation at having a working treadmill she goes, “I hate running!” My immediate response was, “Oh, I love it!”

And then I stopped. Checked my pulse. No, I hadn’t died. I’m not sure where the words or sentiment came from. It was just right there in front of my face. I love running.

And then I laughed. “I can’t believe I just said that!”

Clearly, Hell has frozen over. And if you step outside, you’ll think that mid-Missouri is Hell because it is really frozen over right now. But the real Hell must have completely just froze right up.

If you’d have asked me what I thought of running a year ago I’d have said, “It’s alright. It’s helping me get strong.”

If you’d have asked me two years ago I’d have said, “It fucking sucks! I hate it. But I have to get into shape.”

If you’d have asked me three years ago when I first started the Couch to 5K program I’d have burst into tears and said, “I’ll never be able to do this! Sob. Sob.”

For today, after having an enjoyable run last night, I’ll just come right out and say it.

I love running!

And that may all change after my run on Wednesday! Heh.

