I’m not a big New Year’s Resolution person, but holy hell…after the holidays are over I feel so bloated and gross that the natural response is to eat better. Having fitness and health challenges going on with various groups of people doesn’t hurt with the motivation thing, either.

I’ve been scouring the internet looking for new recipes. I get so bored with all my normal things, so I need to be getting outside my little comfort zone. And…I need things that can be done quickly, or put into a crock pot.

I made this today:

wpid-20150104_092508.jpg

Hmmm. Now that I get that photo off my phone and onto my computer, it’s a little blown out, so let me just tell you what it is. Five cups of chicken broth (I use low sodium). One cup quinoa. A couple pounds of chicken breast. A couple cans of black beans. A can of diced tomatoes. A couple pounds of sweet potatoes (peeled and diced). A couple cloves of garlic (I cheat and use the pre-minced…about 1 tablespoon). I added mushrooms, even though the recipe didn’t call for it. A package of chili mix (I use Williams brand because I like it better than store brands or McCormicks).

You put all this stuff in the crock pot and cook it on low for 6-8 hours, depending on your crock pot. After the chicken is cooked and the sweet potatoes are tender, shred the chicken and serve it up.

I really liked it. It made enough that I have lunch for probably two or three days this week. Bonus! If there was one thing I would want to change, it’s that it wasn’t salty enough. But I purposely used low sodium black beans and low sodium broth, so I knew it wasn’t going to be salty enough. My husband’s blood pressure and cholestrol are a little high, so I’m trying to watch the sodium in our diet, and the chili seasoning mix is high enough in sodium so I felt like I should user the lower sodium options.

When I taste tested it prior to pulling out the chicken to shred it, I said to Mark, “Why does it taste so sweet?” He goes, “Um, aren’t those sweet potatoes in there?” Duh. So beware that the sweet potatoes do have an affect on the broth.

wpid-20150104_172521.jpg

Good stuff.

