Tags

,

Happy New Year!

I think this is going to be a tricky year. I’m looking forward to a year of health and happiness for me and Mark, but I’m looking at a year of unknowns for my father. As you may or may not know, he’s recently been diagnosed with Pancreatic Cancer, so I’m entering this phase of life where I have to start thinking about living in a world without my dad in it. It’s been rough seeing him so frail and weak, because that is not him. He’s always been so full of life and energy.

As we have dealt with the logistics of his treatment, and the amount of stress Mom will be under to provide care for him on a daily basis, my family has done what my family always does. We step up. We wrap our arms around each other to provide comfort (or whatever else may be needed). We rally around each other. Circle the wagons, if you will.

Today I have been texting back and forth with one of my sister’s in law about our upcoming trip to Hawaii, and I went to my Google calendar to review the dates. Looking at my calendar, I was noticing all the dates of when the various siblings will be in town to help with Dad’s care. I was overcome with emotion at seeing a visual of how awesome my family is. It means the world to me to be a part of something that is so much bigger than myself. To know that I have this fortress behind me that will always be there to help pick up the pieces when things fall apart. Whatever those “pieces” may consist of, they are there. I am there for them. They are there for me. We are there for each other. That is what family is all about.

10862627_4890321271720_1981450780402493065_o

Flaws? We have them. Lots of them! But when it comes right down to it, there is not a better family than this on the entire face of the earth! I am the luckiest woman and totally won the lottery when it comes to family.

I hope this new year brings peace and happiness to you and your families.

