Tags

,

I had a great plan for yesterday’s workout. The plan didn’t involve having a company Christmas party on Friday. So the plan for Saturday ended up being the plan for Sunday.

  • Run 1 mile
  • 20 pushups
  • Run 1/2 mile
  • 20 squats
  • Run 1/4 mile
  • 20 burpees
  • Run 1/4 mile
  • 20 squats
  • Run 1/2 mile
  • 20 pushups
  • Run 1 mile
  • Do Yoga

That was the plan.

Things went pretty much according to plan until the burpees. A burpee should be a squat, thrust out, pull legs back to squat position, jump up. It ended up being a squat down, thrust out….um….c’mon body, pull in!!…fine…since I’m already down here…plank jacks, it is!

So I did plank jacks instead of burpees. It would seem that my core isn’t strong enough to do burpees after running for almost two miles. It’s strong enough to do plank jacks, though. I’ll call it a win.

I ended with just under a mile for the last segment. The route from my house, down and around the lake, and back is just under 3.5 miles, so what should have been a mile for the last interval was a little bit short.

runkeeper

I’ve never done any strength training on run days. Running is enough to wear me right out, so this is different. I feel the need to apologize to the geese at the park for all the swearing when I started running again after doing 20 squats. While I’m at it, I should probably apologize to the church folks in the parking lot as I did pushups against their retaining wall. I normally don’t do more than 10 pushups at a time, so 20 pushups produced some swearing, as well. There’s also the nice lady in pink running gear that should have an apology, too. My last set of squats was right at the bottom of the big hill that I had to run up. The pink running lady was on her way down the hill as I was heading up…after having done 20 squats. She just smiled as though she understood the cursing. I should probably learn to run without speaking out loud.

I was also cursing my new running pants. Not the fact that I had new running pants, because I’m really excited to have new WARM running pants. My ASS is really happy to have warm running pants. But these pants sit at a different spot on my waist than my others. My other pants comfortably sit over the top of my muffin top roll. These claim to sit “2.5 inches below the waist.” What this means to a chick with a muffin top is that as you run, the waist band will go, “THthththWAP!” Right over your roll of fat so that it’s sitting under your belly roll. That will take some getting used to. I kept feeling like they were falling off, but they weren’t…they just sit lower than I’m used to. So…something else to get used to while I run.

For as much as I like to whine about every single run, it felt really good out there today. During that last run segment, I was contemplating when I first began the couch to 5k program three years ago. (I’ve been doing that a lot lately.) And I still can’t believe that I can do this. I ran just over a 5k today. Like it was nothing! It’s a great feeling.

