Tags

Have I mentioned before that I love Pinterest?

That’s a joke.

Because I have.

A LOT of times!

As I was scrolling through my newsfeed(? Timeline? What is it called in the Pinterest world?) I came across a holiday sangria recipe. Now, anyone who knows me, knows that I absolutely LOVE a good sangria. I have a basic rule of thumb that I follow, but I’m not above trying a new recipe. The recipe said:

“2 bottles Merlot 1 bottle ginger ale 1 cup sugar 1 tsp ground cinnamon ½ tsp ground nutmeg ½ tsp ground clove 4 to 6 oranges or tangelos 6 to 10 cinnamon sticks 1/2 bag of cranberries”

As we are all well aware, I don’t necessarily do recipes!

First off, I despise Merlot. So I got Pinot Noir instead. It said ginger ale but I thought cranberry gingerale would be tasty. It said sugar, but I prefer agave nectar in my sangria. It said oranges but I forgot to buy them so I used some orange peel from my spice rack. It said clove but I don’t have any. HOW DOES ONE NOT HAVE CLOVES IN THEIR SPICE RACK!?!?!?!?!

This is how it went down in my house:

First I put the cranberries in a netted bag because my big punch dispenser gets fruit stuck in the spigot and it's irritating. So...in a netted bag they went. Turns out they float, sooooo.

First I put the cranberries in a netted bag because my big punch dispenser gets fruit stuck in the spigot and it’s irritating. So…in a netted bag they went. Turns out they float, sooooo.

I doubled the recipe so...four bottles of wine. I had a little bit left of the Pinot Grigio that I used a few weeks ago, and I don't drink Pinot Grigio straight. YUCK! But it's good in sangria, so I added it.  Poured four and a half bottles of wine over the cranberries.

I doubled the recipe so…four bottles of wine. I had a little bit left of the Pinot Grigio that I used a few weeks ago, and I don’t drink Pinot Grigio straight. YUCK! But it’s good in sangria, so I added it. Poured four and a half bottles of wine over the cranberries.

Added the agave nectar...not quite a cup, maybe 3/4??

Added the agave nectar…not quite a cup, maybe 3/4?? even though I double the wine part. Oopsie.

Then spices. Weird, but I'm sure it'll be fine.

Then spices. Weird, but I’m sure it’ll be fine.

As I was writing this, I realized that the “recipe” called for ground cinnamon as well. I’ll have to add that when I get home from work.

 

Right before serving, add the bubbly. NOT champagne, but ginger ale. I've never done anything fizzy in my sangria before. I might hate it. But...sangria, so probably not.

Right before serving, add the bubbly. NOT champagne, but ginger ale. I’ve never done anything fizzy in my sangria before. I might hate it. But…sangria, so probably not.

The way that I see it, all my friends are a bunch of lushes, so probably won’t really matter whether this is delightful or disgusting. It will all be consumed.

Happy holidays, ya’ll.

