Tags

, ,

First of all, HAPPY BIRTHDAY to my beautiful, beautiful daughter, Ann!!

Now, let’s get on with it, shall we?

After Ange’s comment on yesterday’s post (check her out at Cowgirl Runs), I sat down and put together my November workout plan. It’s not my full workout plan because it doesn’t include my run days. It’s my strength training plan.

2014-November-DeckOfCards

You’ll notice there aren’t really any weights mentioned, with the exception of the bicep curls. I think that’s fine. I think that lifting weights is over-rated. Body weight workouts are the way to go.

Here’s the way the deck of cards works. First off, you try to ignore the fact that there is a LINE MISSING FROM THE CHART!!

  • Take a deck of cards.
  • Assign a “task” to each suit.
  • Assign a task to each face card.
  • Shuffle the deck of cards.
  • Turn the first card over and do the exercise assigned to that card and the number of reps the card shows. For example, if Diamonds are Hydrants, and the card you flip is a five of diamonds, you would do five hydrants. Caveat to this is that a hydrant is a one leg at a time activity, so you have to do five hydrants on each leg.
  • When a face card is turned over you do a quantity of ten. I assign the harder tasks to face cards because it’s a consistent ten reps, which means forty reps for whatever you’ve assigned to it instead of fifty four reps that you’ll do on the “numbered” tasks. I assign pushups, squats, plie squats and planks to my  face cards. Aces are planks and I do a 30 second plank with each ace that is turned over. This gives me a total of two minutes of planks during my workout.
  • Continue on until you’ve made it all the way through the deck. This takes me between 35 and 40 minutes, depending on what I’ve got assigned to each suit.

I know I’ve mentioned before that I like doing monthly challenges because it helps me stay focused. But I’ll admit to getting bored easily with some challenges. I keep coming back to the deck of cards concept. It seems to be varied enough that it will hold my attention for a full month.

The other thing that I like about the concept as opposed to some of the monthly challenges you’ll find on pinterest is that the number of reps they end up with at the end of the month are ridiculously high. I feel like some of them are to an extreme measure where it isn’t safe.

So. There you have it. My plan for strength training that will help me be a better runner.

BUT I’M STILL NOT TRAINING FOR A HALF MARATHON!

(*cough* Ange *cough)

