Tags

,

DO NOT TAKE THIS POST TO MEAN THAT I’M THINKING OF TRAINING FOR A HALF MARATHON.

JUST DON’T!

So…I’ve been looking at these training plans for half marathons. I don’t really have a desire to run a half marathon, but I’ve still been looking at training programs. I’ve had this same thought (I’ll get there) as I’ve looked at 10K training programs. And 5K running programs. And here’s where I’m confused.

Here’s an overview from Runners World:

Plan Overview:
Weekly Routine:
3 days of rest or cross training, 3 short runs, 1 long run
Weekly Mileage:
14-24 miles
Long Runs:
Start at 5 miles, peak at 12 miles
Speedwork:
Strides, tempo runs
Here are a couple other samples from various running sites I look at:
Run run run

Run run run

Run run run

Run run run

Run run run

Run run run

It’s all run, run, run. On the cross train days the directions say to do another aerobic activity, i.e. biking, swimming, walking, etc. Some sort of low impact work.

What about strength training? The “run, run, run” plan was fine when I was doing the Couch to 5K training. But the 10K nearly killed me. I have done strength training on my own and kind of know what I need to do to build strong muscles and a strong core, but I really suspect that I’m not doing enough if I ever want to successfully increase my mileage.

How do you know what kind of strength training needs to be done? Why is that not incorporated into the training plans for running? Especially for the longer distance runs? It doesn’t make any sense to me.

Currently, my strength training consists of Deck of Cards workouts (squats, lunges, planks, pushups, etc etc etc). Where do you find your strength training plans (short of hiring a personal trainer)? Or do you just wing it?

