Tags

Mark has a guy for that.

We say this all the time at my house. Need something welded? Mark has a guy for that. Need gutters put up? Mark has a guy for that. Need fish? Mark has…wait. What? Fish? We weren’t looking for fish.

Apparently, that didn’t matter. He has a guy he does business with who loves to fish and yesterday Mark came home with a garbage bag full of fresh from the lake fish. So we took care of it. Mark filleted it. I cooked it. And it was fabulous! (if you like fish, otherwise, it was probably nauseating)

It went something like this:

Start with fresh, gutted, skinned (or descaled, whatever you call it in the fishing world) fish.

Start with fresh, gutted, skinned (or descaled, whatever you call it in the fishing world) fish.

Rinse it off in cold water really well. Put it into a container of buttermilk.

Rinse it off in cold water really well. Put it into a container of buttermilk.

Put the plate of crumbs right next to the buttermilk-soaking fish.  Heat up the oil to 400*.

Put the plate of crumbs right next to the buttermilk-soaking fish. Heat up the oil to 400*.

I use the store brand of panco crumbs. It's really good. I'm normally not a fan of store brands, but my local grocery store has some great products.

I use the store brand of panco crumbs. It’s really good. I’m normally not a fan of store brands, but my local grocery store has some great products.

Into the frying pan it goes. I cooked it three minutes per side. It was  thinly filleted so that seemed about right.

Into the frying pan it goes. I cooked it three minutes per side. It was thinly filleted so that seemed about right.

Ta Da!!  Do you think it's overkill if I used cilantro/avocado dressing on a salad that's made out of an herb blend that contains cilantro along with diced avocado on top? I think not!

Ta Da!!
Do you think it’s overkill if I used cilantro/avocado dressing on a salad that’s made out of an herb blend that contains cilantro along with diced avocado on top? I think not!

If you've never tried Bolthouse Farms dressings, I highly recommend it. It's made with yogurt, so it has 35-45 (depending on the flavor) calories and 3 grams of fat. So much better on the nutritional value than normal dressing. And since I like creamy dressings, it's the way to go for me.

If you’ve never tried Bolthouse Farms dressings, I highly recommend it. It’s made with yogurt, so it has 35-45 (depending on the flavor) calories and 3 grams of fat. So much better on the nutritional value than normal dressing. And since I like creamy dressings, it’s the way to go for me. (sorry for the blurry picture.)

Yummy dinner. But now? My house smells fishy!

 

 

