I may have mentioned some time ago that my doctor suggested that I get more bran in my diet. You know, like Raisin Bran. So I’ve taken to eating Raisin Bran for breakfast. I actually feel better. I’m more regular (because you wanted to know that) and I’ve lost on average a pound a week since I switched from my normal muesli to the Raisin Bran. However, do you know how boring it is to have it every morning? For some reason, having my muesli with blueberries and pecans every morning wasn’t boring. I ate that for breakfast every single day with no boredom. So I’m really not sure why just a change in the type of cereal has me completely bored. Where did I turn? This will come as a shock. Pinterest.

Yup. I searched for bran muffins. Yawn. Yawn. Yawn. I know that muffins have a reputation of being just glorified cake, so I wanted something that was at least healthy. And I found this:

Buttermilk Bran Muffins

20141021_185028

You put the buttermilk and bran into a bowl and let it sit for about 10 minutes. (1 cup buttermilk, 1.5 cups bran)

While it’s sitting, in a separate bowl mix together 1 egg, 1/3 cup oil, 2/3 cup brown sugar, and 1/2 teaspoon vanilla.

20141021_185033

I swapped out the oil for a full, ripe banana. WAY less fat. Bananas and apples have a bonding agent similar to what oil has so you can always substitute either of those things for the oil. Banana has a little bit stronger flavor, so you’d want to take that into consideration when you’re deciding if you want to do a substitution.

Pour the egg mixture into the bran mixture then add 1 cup flour, 1 teaspoon baking powder, 1 teaspoon baking soda, 1/2 teaspoon salt.

20141021_185257

Mix it just until combined.

Fold in 1/2 cup raisins. The first time I made these I used blueberries and it was really good that way.

20141021_185518

I used raisins this time. In addition to that, I added about 1/2 cup chopped pecans for some extra protein in the muffins.

20141021_185552

It folds in quite nicely. Put into muffin tins. This recipe will make 12 normal size muffins. And when I say “normal” I don’t mean “big as your face like you’d find in the store.” I simply mean “normal.”

20141021_185821

Bake at 375 for 15-20 minutes, depending on your oven. My old oven burned the shit out of everything. My new oven works perfectly. It’s awesome. My ice cream scoop is just about the perfect size to fill muffin tins.

20141021_191720

Whenever I make bread or muffins or cake or anything of the sort, I let it sit in the pan for about 5 minutes before removing it. This allows the baked goods to solidify a little bit before dumping them out. They hold together way better. However, if you leave it in too long, the “anti-stick” item that you use to coat the pan (pam, shortening, butter, etc) will begin hardening and you run the risk of your muffins ripping to shreds when you try to get them out of the pan.

20141021_191910

I store them in a zip lock bag to keep them fresh and eat them for breakfast or a snack each day. If I eat it for breakfast I’ll have a hard boiled egg with it. If I eat it for a snack I will have a piece of fruit with it. They’re good. It’s a great alternative to my boring ol’ Raisin Bran.

