Tags

Running is hard! I think I’ve mentioned that before. Running is especially hard when it is humid out. 74% humidity is damned near impossible to run in. For me, anyway. There are much tougher women out there who will be trekking along like it’s no big thing in this type of humidity. I am not one of those people.

I have a treadmill and an elliptical at home that I can use when it’s too hot/humid or too cold to run outside, and I’m exceptionally grateful for that.

My treadmill has been acting up on me for the last year(ish). I have hate, hate, HATED running on it. It’s old.The treads seize up if the incline is less than 5. You have to let it run for five minutes before you get on it or your weight will stop the thing dead cold. It’s just irritating as can be. So I don’t use it.

When I got home from work I was telling my husband that I was going to wait until dark to go run so that it would at least be a little cooler out and maybe the humidity wouldn’t be as unbearable.  I was poking around on the computer passing away the time and he called me (on my phone because god forbid he have to walk upstairs) and asked if I had my running clothes on yet. It occurred to me that he was in the workout room trying to get the treadmill working for me so that I didn’t have to go out in the muggy, muggy world. Yay. It’s why I keep him around, you know!

I changed clothes, headed downstairs, and got on the treadmill. I asked what he wanted me to do and he said to just do my workout like I normally would. I figured that while he was trying to fix things, that I’d knock the incline down so that I wasn’t continually running uphill. If it acted up like it normally did at a low incline he could possibly figure out why. So I moved the incline down to 2.5. Do you know what a difference it makes when you go from running at 5% incline down to 2.5% incline? It’s like the angels begin singing! I felt like I could run forever. I knew that I couldn’t, but at that moment in time, I was fairly certain that I could.

Mark kind of poked around at the control panel while I ran. He sat on the bowflex bench with the cat on his lap while I ran. He lifted some weights while I ran. After about 40 minutes he looked up at the control panel and goes, “Wow, Baby! You’re doing amazing!” He’s kind of sarcastic most of the time, so to hear the genuineness in his voice was a complete ego boost for me. It’s like he knows I go out and run, but I don’t think he really realized how much progress I’ve made over the last few years. His compliment gave me just the encouragement I needed to finish out the last 10 minutes of my run. I wish I could bottle that feeling up and take it with me on every run.

wpid-1408491709819.jpg

Forty five minute run (4.8 mph pace – I’m so freaking slow), five minute cool down walk (3.0 mph pace). Then twenty minutes of recovery yoga. I feel GOOD!

Also? I have the best husband ever!!!

