The day after the wedding I hosted a brunch for my family. As I was cooking breakfast I watched my dad toodling around in my garden. I rolled my eyes. I knew that I was doing it all wrong by the intent look on his face. Matt and Janel came up to ask if they could help because everyone was out there eating already. I chuckled and said I’d be right down and that I was putting it off because I didn’t want to deal with Dad’s comments about my garden. I told Matt, “Mark my words. Before I’m out there for five seconds he’ll be at my side telling me all the things I could do differently to make it better.” He laughed, gave me a hug, and sent me on my way.

I sat down next to one of my sisters and we had barely started a conversation when Dad came up and said, “I pruned your tomatoes so they’d grow better. If you have some clippers I’ll get your blackberries fixed so they’ll produce better.” I got out of my chair and looked in both sheds to appease him. No pruning sheers (I keep them up in the garage by my roses). I told him thanks for helping with the tomatoes and he should probably relax for a bit because it was getting hot. He sat down in a lawn chair and started dozing a little. I looked at my sister and said, “Too bad my garden looks like shit.” She laughed and said, “Don’t mind him. He’s just crazy.” I know she’s right, but why does it still sting a little? He told my older sister that they needed to make a trip to my house because “Cristy needs some help with her garden.” *sigh*

I guess I should show you my hideous garden!

20140624_172417[1] 20140624_172426[1]

Avert your eyes.

