You’ve heard me talk about my place off the grid where we hang out most weekends during the Spring, Summer, and Fall. Well, out there it’s practically the law that if you’re going to ride any ATV sort of thing that you must be carrying a beer. And then there are the times when those carrying the cans of beer are not driving ATVs. These are the ones we refer to as complete morons!

Before I show you the pictures I have to tell you that I caught a LOT of crap for taking pictures of the stupidity. Because, ya know…I could get them into trouble because regular vehicles aren’t allowed on the ATV trails…and we wouldn’t want anyone who is breaking the rules to have to suffer the consequences of their actions! (insert ENORMOUS eyeroll right here) I’ll save the whole rant about what I think regarding protecting people from the consequences of their actions creating an environment that keeps them from LEARNING. That whole cause and effect thing. Ridiculous! I suspect you already know how I feel on that matter.

So…because of that, all identifying marks have been fuzzied up. (insert another eyeroll)

We’re hanging out having a peaceful conversation and eating (as we do) and I saw two of the guys get into the jeep and drive off. I turned to the person sitting next to me and said, “This isn’t going to end well.” That may or may not be a statement about the idiocy and history of the two guys who left together. A half hour had not passed before there was a phone call, a quiet conversation, a very loud What The Fuck, and a request for assistance in helping a numbnutz significant other unbury the new jeep.

IMG_2209 IMG_2210

This is what we drove up on. It never ceases to amaze me that no matter how many times people try to go through the big pits (there are two of them that are pretty close to unnavigable) that someone always insists that THEIR vehicle will make it! In the words of Big Dan (may he rest in peace), “God love ya!” His favorite phrase for those who probably shouldn’t contribute to the gene pool.

Mark and I have towed more people out, but they’ve always been in ATVs. We knew there was no way our Razr would be able to pull the jeep out. Our friend has a Razr also, but even with two, we knew it was going to take a truck. How did we know that? Oh, probably because we weren’t drunk! It takes a sober mind to recognize your limitations.

IMG_2245 IMG_2248 IMG_2252

So one of the guys went to his lot to get his truck. And pulled the numbnutz out.

IMG_2271

The whole inside of the jeep is full of that disgusting, stale, smelly mud.

IMG_2277

While we’re talking about absurdity, I spent a lot of time this weekend judging poor parenting choices. That’s right. You heard me. I was judging parents! If you’re an adult and want to put your own life at risk, have at it. But for hell’s sake. Do not endanger the children.

So…pretty much just another day off the grid. I hope your Memorial Day celebrations were uneventful and relaxing.

