Friends

colorvibeI registered for a Color Vibe race a few months ago. I’ve always heard how much fun they are so I didn’t even think twice about it.

Well, then I saw a bunch of my friends signing up for a Glow run, which is the week after my color run. I commented on their FB post. They begged me to join them. They’re all walking it, and with my foot issues, I thought that I could totally walk 3.1 miles with them. So I registered. Two weeks back to back for “fun” races.

I see post after post on my Facebook from Color Vibe so I posted it to my friends’ walls to see if they wanted to join me for it. Nope. They couldn’t. I just shrugged and went on about my business.

Then I got an email from Color Vibe. Last minute registration. Lots of hype to get participants excited about the race. And, contrary to what the email was designed to do, I got sad. This race that is designed for camaradarie that I’m doing on my own. Took the wind went right out of my sails.

I think of the whole running thing as an individual thing, because for me it is. I can’t run with someone else because my pace is so much slower than normal people, plus I can’t talk while running. It messes with my breathing. So I’m a solo runner. I always have been. So why is it that I’m so bummed to be doing this FUN color run alone? It’ll be fun, right?

RIGHT!?

2 thoughts on “Friends

  1. It *will* be fun! It will be like anything you’ve done before. It’s a franchise and likely will be in your area (or Run or Dye or The Color Run) again soon. Recruit a friend (or daughter) to join you another time.

    I feel you about the solitary part of it, though. This very subject may be a blog post of my own: I joined a running group to find a running buddy, and I’m *still* running alone. Too slow for the faster pace group, and too fast for the newbies and walkers. Whatever. It gets me out and the camaraderie is good, even if I don’t get to run with anyone.

    • Thanks, B. I’m sure it’ll be fun. I’ve heard goodd things about the color run. Proceeds go to a charity to help end childhood hunger, so it’s at least for a great cause.

Leave a Reply

