Tags

Make lemonade, right?

Nope!

Lemon Bundt Cake.

I’ve had some lemons in my refrigerator that I was afraid were going to go bad so I thought I’d better use them. God forbid I throw away food. So I got my bake on.

20140217_135927

 

The cats were intrigued by what I was up to. I’m not sure why they’re so fascinated by every little thing, but they are. It’s funny to watch them investigate.

So, here’s what you do:

Blend up two sticks of butter until it’s nice and creamy, then add 1 3/4 cups of sugar, 1/4 cup lemon juice (I used fresh squeezed) and a little lemon zest and beat it til it’s fluffy. Then add four eggs, one at a time, beating til smooth between each egg addition.

You’ll need two separate bowls. One for dry ingredients, one for yogurt. Measure out one cup of plain yogurt. I used Chobani Greek. You can use one cup of buttermilk if you’d prefer. Either will work.

In the second bowl mix together 2.5 cups of flour (I used a half white/half wheat combo), 1/2 cup cornmeal. Weird, right? Two teaspoons of baking powder. Half teaspoon each of salt and baking soda.

Alternately add the yogurt and the dry ingredients mixture. Blend well between each addition. Beat it til it’s well mixed.

Pour into a bundt pan that’s been sprayed with cooking spray so it doesn’t stick. Bake it at 325 for 55 – 65 minutes. When it’s done baking, let it cool for five minutes then remove it from the pan. Mix together a cup of powdered sugar and 1/3 cup of lemon juice (again, I used fresh squeezed). The mixture will be lumpy. Drizzle it over the hot cake. It’ll soak in a bit, and you will see lumps of powdered sugar. I pricked the top of the cake with a fork before I drizzled the powdered sugar mix. It’s not necessary, but I thought it might absorb more of the glaze this way.

After I did all that, I got this:

20140217_154159

 

Now, just the facts, Ma’am. Just the facts:

Per serving: 282 cal, 4 g pro, 44 g car, 1 g fiber, 11 g fat (6 g sat fat), 67 mg chol, 173 mg sod

Not bad for a dessert! It is YUMMY!

