Tags

,

Statistics say that the average cruiser gains between 6 – 12 pounds during a week long cruise. I’m happy to report that I’m below average, gaining only 5 pounds. And I say “only” with a major grimace on my face. I’m sure the 500 dollar bar tab had nothing to do with it.

::insert eyeroll here::

This is the first cruise where I have actually gained weight. I’m very active on my cruises. I take the stairs and not the elevator. I workout every day. I do major high energy excursions. It all evens out the food and alcohol involved in a cruise.

This cruise was different. My sister went with me and she isn’t in the physical shape to do the things that I can do. This is NOT a slam on my sister. I’m merely stating fact. I was so freaking excited that she was able to go with me. As I’ve talked about past cruises she’s always expressed an overwhelming desire to go on one, but never was in a position to do so. I was ecstatic when she informed me a few months ago that she’d be able to go. Doing less active excursions and taking the elevator was well worth having her be able to go. We had such a great time together and I have no doubt that this won’t be our last cruise together! I’m fairly certain that I’ve created a monster in her. She walked around with the largest grin on her face all week! So much fun to watch her experience this for the first time.

All that being said, I’m now five pounds heavier than I was a week ago. In the olden days this wouldn’t concern me. But I’ve struggled so much with my weight in the last four years that I would be lying if I said this was no big deal. On our way home from the airport, Mark and I stopped by the store to stock up on fresh fruits and veggies so that we could get back on track.

When I got home from work tonight I put together smoothie bags, courtesy of my pal, Ange! She always has great ideas for healthy options. So I took her advice and put together enough smoothies for me and Mark for the rest of the week. Spinach, cherries, blueberries. I’ll throw in a small container of yogurt and a banana and whiz bang it in the blender. It’ll be easy.

Then I made four omelets. Breakfast for Mark and me for the next two days. Eggs, low fat swiss cheese, asparagus, mushrooms, garlic, and spinach.

20140212_175401

One of them kind of fell apart when I flipped it, but I’m pretty sure it’ll taste the same.

Yesterday after I got home from work I put a turkey tenderloin in the oven while I did my workout but it got done too late to have for dinner then, so I used it tonight. Or at least part of it. Turkey quesadillas. So good.

20140212_181825

They made a great topper for my salad. Then I topped the quesadilla with light sour cream, guacamole, and southwestern style dressing. Right at 400 calories, it was a great way to have a savory meal without feeling deprived. I don’t believe in self deprivation. I think it’s counter productive. I do believe in moderation. There are very few things that I absolutely refuse to eat.

So…I’ve got my breakfast and snacks ready to go for the rest of the week (the whole two days that are left) and then over the weekend, I’ll be cooking for the following week and getting all my food lined out. I don’t want to have to think about anything. I just want to eat.

And get rid of the five pounds that I found on my my cruise.

