Tags

, ,

They say that great abs start in the kitchen. Well, I’d say that They are pretty smart. Lean protein is key. So when I saw this recipe last week on Biggest Loser I knew I had to try it.

I decided I was going to make two batches – one with turkey sausage and one with bacon. The “nutrition label” is for the turkey sausage. Using bacon will obviously increase the calories, cholesterol, and fat.

20140119_115940

I browned lean turkey sausage and bacon in separate frying pans, then drained them, crumbled them, and set them in separate bowls to cool.

Then I began chopping veggies. The recipe called for onions, green peppers, mushrooms, and garlic. I added asparagus just because I can. The quantities are for a single batch. I doubled up everything so I could have a set for the bacon and a set for the turkey.

Mushrooms – 2 cups

20140119_115949

Green peppers – 1

20140119_120836

Onions – 1

20140119_121129

Asparagus – 1/4 bunch

20140119_120317

Then in the a frying pan I put some olive oil, the onions, and a couple cloves of garlic and carmelized them.

20140119_121350

I sprinkled cumin and chives (redundant – shrug) over the onions. Once they were carmelized I added the rest of veggies to cook them up. I didn’t want the “muffins” to be gross because of sweaty veggies, so I sauteed them for a bit before putting them into the egg mix.

20140119_121436

That’s a crappy picture. Oopsie.

Then I let everything cool off really well. Since I was going to be adding eggs to it, I needed everything to be cool so the eggs didn’t begin cooking. I also needed to add cheese to the mixture and didn’t want that all melty and goopy. It wouldn’t mix up as well if the cheese was melting. The recipe called for 1 cup of low-fat Mexican blend. I used low-fat Swiss because it has fewer calories. Also, the bag I bought contained 1 1/2 cups of shredded cheese, and I was making a double batch so I only used 3/4 cup per batch. I saved some calories on switching out the cheese and using a little less. That kind of seems wrong to skimp on cheese.

20140119_124211

The recipe calls for 8 eggs or 2 cups of egg substitute. Well, I don’t use egg substitute and I found that 8 eggs didn’t quite make 2 cups so I added an extra egg. Then a quarter cup of milk. I used 1%. The recipe just called for “milk” so I’m not sure what they used to calculate their calorie totals. Probably skim, so the milk that I used may have increased the calories.

Once you whiz/bang the eggs and milk into oblivion, pour the mixture over the meat, cheese, veggie mix.

20140119_124506

Scoop the mixture into muffin tins. One recipe makes 12 frittatas. I used an ice cream scoop to fill the muffin tins because it seems to be just the right amount. It’s what I always use when I’m making anything in my muffin tin. Once I had the tins filled, I had to reallocate some of it because the first half of the scoops were more filling/less egg, so I had to make them all equal.

Then I baked them. 350 degrees. 20-25 minutes depending on your oven. This is how they came out.

20140119_140020-1

I used Pam organic olive oil spray to coat the muffin tins. If you’re doing two batches like I did but only have one muffin tin, make sure that you really spray it well the second time or the bottoms might stick. Boo. With the additions and deletions I used in this, I would imagine it’s very close to the 100 calorie range. The bacon ones are probably closer to the 150 calorie range.

My plan for this week is to put them into zip lock bags. Some bags with two, some with one. If I’m eating it as a snack I will only have one with some fruit. If I’m eating it for breakfast I will have two with some fruit. I might try freezing some and see how they hold up.

So….here’s the official recipe, not necessarily what I did. As usual.

  • 1 package extra lean ground turkey
  • 1/4 tsp cumin
  • 1 T vegetable oil
  • 1 green pepper, chopped
  • 2 c mushrooms, diced
  • 1 T chipotle peppers in adobo sauce (I didn’t use this)
  • 2 c egg substitute or 8 eggs
  • 1/4 c milk
  • 1/3 c green onions
  • 1 c shredded low-fat Mexican blend cheese

Heat oven to 350. Mis 12 muffin tins with cooking spray. Cook ground turkey as specified on package. Sprinkle with cumin (I sprinkled the onions instead of the turkey). Stir to mix. In large skillet over medium high heat, add oil, green pepper, mushrooms, chipotle peppers. Cook 5 minutes, stirring occasionally, until mushrooms are cooked. In a large bowl, whisk eggs, milk, and cilantro until well mixed. Stir in turkey, cheese, mushroom mixture and green onions. Spoon mixture into muffin tins, filling approximately 3/4 full. Bake 20 minutes or until set.

Nutrition information:

  • Calories – 100
  • Fat – 3.5g
  • Saturated fat – 1.5g
  • Protein – 15g
  • Cholesterol – 30mg
  • Carbs – 2g
  • Sodium – 140mg
  • Fiber – 0g
  • Sugar – 1g

Obviously, some of these things will be different based on the adjustments I made. These are SO FREAKING GOOD! Enjoy!

