Tags

This weekend I’m making a trip to Chicago to have a girl’s weekend with some of my favorite people. I’m super stoked about it. I wanted to take some sort of baked good along because this group is super crazy about baked goods. I mean SUPER crazy! Crazy to the point that one of the items on the agenda is a cookie crawl to see what bakery makes the best cooking in Chi-town. Who needs a pub crawl when you can eat all the cookies!?

So, yeh. Baked good-crazed women are descending on the Windy City. Take cover, folks!

Years ago my brother married an awesome woman whose father is a baker. He made this amaretto cake that was simply to die for. As I’ve thought about yummy goodness, that cake has haunted me. So I pulled out my recipe file to get the card and start baking. Problem. I couldn’t find the recipe card. I did a bunch of searching on line. Asked a couple of friends (one who is a baker in her own right). Managed to come up with a recipe.

First cream 1.5 cups of room temperature butter and 3 cups of sugar together. Beat it for three minutes.

IMG_6092

Then add 5 eggs one by one. Beat for another two minutes after all the eggs have been added.

IMG_6100

Then mix together (in a separate bowl) your flour mix. 2.5 cups of flour, 2 tsp baking powder, 1/2 tsp salt, 1/2 cup ground almonds. This has a darkish tint to it because the only grinder I have is my coffee grinder. So don’t be surprised if there’s a hint of coffee in the cake. I like coffee and amaretto so it should be fine. Warning, there may be chunks of almonds that didn’t get ground quite fine enough.

IMG_6103

In another separate container mix up your milk mix. 1 1/3 c of milk, 2/3 c amaretto, 1 tsp almond extract, 1/2 tsp vanilla. Seriously, folks, I could have just drank this mixture!!!

IMG_6098

IMG_6096

Add 1/3 of the flour mix with your mixer (Kitchen Aid in my case) on low speed. Then add 1/2 the milk mix, then 1/3 flour, blah blah blah….until it’s all mixed together.

Pour into a greased bundt pan. Bake at 350 degrees for 55 minutes.

It comes out of the oven looking like this:

IMG_6109

But then this happened:

IMG_6114 IMG_6115

Ruh-roh!

I have used this bundt pan a LOT. I have never had a cake stick to it. Especially to the point where the whole thing is mutilated.

So I did this:

IMG_6119

Now, instead of a bundt cake, I have made a little flower cake. Pretty.

I promised Mark I’d give him a piece of cake before I left for the city. He just got it a little sooner because we had this:

IMG_6122

Totally edible! YUM! According to Mark, “This is REALLY good!” I take that as the highest compliment because he doesn’t care for cake. It’s always too rich. But he liked it. We ate the “ruined” part that I dug out of the pan and cut off the top of the bundt.

I can’t believe I’m going to take a less than perfect dessert to feed to people. This totally goes against my nature, but I’m taking it. And they’ll like it, damn it!

Next time (because there will be a next time) I might try my flute pan. Something where I can completely scrape around the sides and bottom with a knife.

