Tags

Silence?

Nah. Silence isn’t the sound I’m looking for.

It’s more the sound of…

Beer Can Crushing.

I hope you listened carefully. That’s the sound my neck made at volleyball tonight. I’m currently on my couch with ice on my neck after taking a bad enough hit that I’m actually considering going to see a doctor in the morning.

What??

I know.

Our setter wasn’t moving towards a loose ball and called for help at the last minute. I lunged forward towards the ball, and at the last second she decided to go for it. I do not know what part of her body my head connected with, but it was a direct, straight on hit. And my neck made that sound and down I went. I instantly grabbed hold of my neck, like that was somehow going to keep it from falling off. None of that “birds tweeting around the head” thing because there was no head injury, but holy shit, my neck stiffened up instantly.

Naturally, it was the first set and we still had two more to go. About halfway through the second set my arm started going a little numb, which kind of freaked me out a little. I’m getting more feeling back in it now, but I will say that I was a little concerned.

I popped a couple Aleve when I got home and have been sitting with an ice pack on it. I guess the good news is that we won the match. I’ll see how I feel in the morning and decide if I need to make an appointment with the doc.

What the hell, folks!! I didn’t think that volleyball was a contact sport.

You heard what pathetic sounds like. Here’s what it looks like:

20131002_204705

