Tags

Remember this? The “Update” part of the post, specifically.

I woke up in the middle of the night to a big thunk. It seemed that Bandit had fallen off the bed. She’s about the most agile little creature on the face of the earth, but this morning as I watched her walk around, she is clearly falling and stumbling every few steps. She reminded me so much of Tippy when he was diagnosed with Vestibular Syndrome three years ago. He made a full recovery and is just fine.

This morning I have read a lot of this vestibular disease in cats and for the most part, it seems the causes are unknown…inner ear infection can trigger it, eating something (blue tailed lizard is a known “toxin”), bonk to the head. Did you know there is a webMD for animals?  There is. I found it. Here’s what they say:

Idiopathic vestibular syndrome is the most common cause of labyrinthitis in cats. The onset is sudden and the cause is unknown. The signs include a head tilt and nystagmus, and cats may have difficulty walking. There is an increase in these cases in July and August in the northeastern United States, suggesting an environmental cause.

Bandit is right about the same age as Tippy was. Of course, his environmental issues at the time were extremely different than hers. It lasted about a week with Tippy. Or, I should say, about a week after we got home from vacation and found him. I don’t think it’ll last as long with Bandit because I’m here and can make sure she doesn’t get severely dehydrated like Tippy did. It makes me wonder if we’ll go through the same thing with Smokey next year when he’s about the same age.

It’s very disconcerting to see your pet walking around like a drunken sailor. I hope she gets better soon, especially since I leave for Hawaii on Friday.

I hope she gets back to normal soon because, well, look at her. She's so beautiful!

I hope she gets back to normal soon because, well, look at her. She’s so beautiful!

