Caveat to this post:

This has NOTHING to do with the “tease” post from earlier today. That will come later.

One of Mark’s friends has gone on a gimmicky cleanse. She’s dropped a bunch of weight and so in Mark’s brain he sees this magical pill. He wants a magical pill in the worst way. Snap your fingers and have the weight drop right off. It doesn’t matter how much I preach about the “right way” to lose it, all he can think about is the easy way. Trust me when I tell you there is no easy way.

I’ve watched my best friend do the “easy” things. Weight loss pills. HCG. Adkins. One fad after another. Weight up. Weight down. Every time she drops a ton of weigh going the easy route, the moment she gets off the path the weight comes back. And then some. It keeps it in the forefront of my brain that it is not worth it. Not worth the excess weight gain when you go off the program.

As you know, I bought the hip hop abs set almost a month ago. Along with that came a “jump start” diet plan. Ever the skeptic, I read through it ready to pick it apart. The problem is that there was nothing for me to pick. It’s basically cutting out sugar, grains, alcohol for six days. Then slowly incorporating whole grains back into the eating plan. Lots of lean meat. Lots of FISH! I love fish so it’s not bad. What IS hard is not putting creamer in my coffee!

Today we started our Jump Start! It follows a similar pattern to what I have been doing except that I’ll have eggs for breakfast instead of Muesli. It has us eating a snack between each meal. Almonds, cottage cheese and fruit, low fat cheese and meat rollups. Things that are lean and high in protein. A shit ton of vegetables! We’ll see how it goes.

20130715_201707

This was dinner tonight. Many of you may puke now! But it was very tasty. I sprayed a sheet of tin foil with pam then sprinkled it with lemon pepper. I set the halibut steak on top of that. Then I topped it with thyme and oregano, chopped up some green onions and tomatoes, and placed it on top of the fish. Then I drizzled lemon juice over the top of it. Close up the tin foil around the fish and toss it on the grill for 15-20 minutes. I kept the temperature at about 450. Good golly, Miss Molly, was it ever tasty! The asparagus just got thrown on tin foil, sprinkled with salt and pepper, wrapped up and tossed on the grill. Super simple. I’m not a huge asparagus fan, but I want to follow this kick start to a tee. I scarfed down the asparagus first thing off while I was STARVING so that it would taste good. Then I savored the fish. Yum, yum, yum!

We’ll see how the rest of the week goes.

Up tomorrow – Chicken delight for dinner. And tons of broccoli.

