Tags

,

20130501_201324Ten K Training.

Over the winter it was way too cold to run outside and I absolutely LOATHE my treadmill. I did a lot of workout DVDs just to avoid the treadmill. Since the weather has been warming up I’ve laced up my running shoes and hit the great outdoors again.

I can really feel the affects of not running all winter so mostly I’ve been walking. There has been a lot of discussion about the Couch to 5K program amongst my peeps so I thought I’d look to see what kind of apps were out there for a 10K program. I’ve already don C25K so I didn’t see the point of doing it again. Go ahead and roll your eyes at me.

I found an app for a 10K training for beginners and it was made by the same folks who did the 5K app that I used. So I downloaded it and began. I want to get on a good Monday, Wednesday, and Saturday routine for running.

Monday it began! I did the run, which oddly enough was exactly what Week 1/Day 1 was for the 5K program. I’m assuming that the first half is going to be C25K and I’m fine with that. After the half hour program I felt good! Really, REALLY good. Probably because of my new tenny-runners that make me jump higher and run faster. But I felt good. So I walked for an additional 2+miles before heading home and calling it a day.

Yesterday (Wednesday) was volleyball day. Second to last game of the season before I’m done for the summer. Playing the first place team. Two games behind. We needed to win all three sets of the match in order to have a chance to overtake them. BUT…it was also my running day. And Day 1 was so easy. And my game didn’t start til 7:20pm. And I feel stronger than I have for years. So I went for my run. Only a half hour. Anyone can do anything for half hour.

The run was easy. I felt good. It was a little hot (88 degrees out) but I didn’t have any trouble with my breathing like I did last year in 95 degree weather. I got home after my run and ate toast with peanutbutter and a banana to kind of rejuvenate. Drank a shit-ton of water. Stretched out really well. Relaxed for an hour and half until game time.

In a perfect world, this wouldn’t have been a problem.

On our way to the game I started feeling hot and nauseous. I mean REALLY nauseous. Like my insides wanted to meet the outside world toot-sweet. I drank some water. I turned the AC up. I really hadn’t quit sweating from my run, even though it was two hours prior to my game, but really didn’t give it much of a thought because I didn’t have the AC turned on at home so my house was a little warm.

Inside the gym it was HOT! Hot, hot, hot! The lightheadedness set in. The nausea increased. The internal heat would not subside. One of the girls on my team looked at me a little cross-eyed and asked if I was OK. I told her I was feeling lightheaded and nauseous and really hot. She said it felt nice and cool in the gym. Yikes!

I went out into the hallway to get some fresh air and water and just breathe through it. At the very last possible moment, I went back to the gym and started the game. Because god forbid I miss a game!!

Once the game began everything was fine. Thus works the adrenaline thing. And I played well. My muscles were already loosened up and warm, which normally doesn’t happen when I get to the gym and stretch. It typically takes half of the first set to get good and loosened up. So that part was good. And we won all three sets. So that was good.

All’s well that ends well, right? Right! But I won’t be running before volleyball anymore! I didn’t think it would be a big deal. Now I know better. Live and learn.

