Tags

,

healthysnacksOK, everyone! I need some help. My CareBear and I were having a discussion about snacks. We’re both desperately trying to get some sort of control over our weight/body issues. I’m pretty good about the way I eat but sometimes I lack motivation to go out and do a workout. I’m doing better lately, but get distracted easily.

When CareBear and I were chatting the other day we got on the topic of food, exercise, and the fun that goes along with it. Here’s a small portion of our conversation:

3:36 PM CareBear: are you having a busy Monday?
 me: It’s been SO BUSY all day. It’s finally slowed down to where I’m catching up on Twitter. 🙂 You should go to FB and check out Ann’s post about the Ab workout. OMG, it would kill me!
3:37 PM Carrie: I will go look. Im so board Im dying…
  I am at work.
3:39 PM me: Go look at it and you’ll be dying just at the thought of what she wants people to join her in. LOL.

3:45 PM CareBear: are you doing it? I just say OH MY HELL! thank you… um NO.
  just getting my food added in is hard enough.
3:46 PM I keep forgetting about it.
  I deffinatelly need to eat more…. of the right things.
  i dont get enough calaries. and it [MyFitnessPal] warns me of going into starvation/storage mode. Im sure I have been in that for quite sometime.
 
3:52 PM me: Only one time have I gotten that warning and it was a Saturday when I was busy all day and wasn’t snacking. I’m finding that my snacks are almost as important as my meals because I’ve been pretty good (except this past weekend) about what I eat for meals. You definitely need to get a MINIMUM of 1200 calories (of the right kind) per day.
  I’m NOT doing Ann’s challenge. I’m just going to concentrate on being more consistent with my circuits and running in May and then consider the ab thing in June.
3:54 PM CareBear: I think the same thing. I really need to go to the store and get some healthy stuff. when I come to work I go get fast food… I try to get the most healthy kind but still..

Carrot sticks are SO unsatifying..

  it feels like a punishment to eat healthy sometimes.
  prep is the worst I think.
OK…So I added all the bold excitement to the carrot sticks comment, but this is where you all come into play. I’m sure we’re not the only ones who find carrot sticks so unsatisfying. I gave her some ideas of what I do for snacks that aren’t boring (to me, anyway). Here are some of my ideas:
  • Whole grain crackers with Laughing Cow lite cream cheese triangles and strawberries
  • Apple slices with peanut butter
  • Whole wheat toast with peanut butter and sliced bananas
  • Hard boiled egg and grapes
  • Greek yogurt with fruit and granola
  • Fruit/yogurt smoothie
  • Sliced strawberries and a small handful of almonds
  • Broccoli florets with sliced strawberries and slivered almonds

These are some of my pretty standard snacks. They’re easy for me to make ahead. I’m not concerned about doing the “100 calorie snack” because I eat small enough meals that my snacks need to be a little more substantial than 100 calories.

What are some things that you do for snacking? Especially if you’re at an office all day with limited kitchen space. I’m really trying to help CareBear get over the “it’s a punishment to eat healthy” sentiment. The easier it is to do, the less like a punishment it feels. And the better it is for us.

So…bring it on. Healthy, high protein, low carb yummy treats. GO!

