Tags

,

Who would have ever thought that I would have fun at a hockey game?? I’m not a fan. I don’t understand the rules. It’s just never been something that has piqued my interest enough to really figure out.

That being said, I had a blast with Ann and Michelle at the charity hockey game over the weekend. Ann’s boyfriend is the goalie for the police department team and their annual charity event is a game played between the police department and fire department. Since I happen to be a fan of Ann’s boyfriend, I went to the game. This might come as a huge shock, but I took some pictures. One of my favorites is of this poor bastard face planting on the ice. It made me weirdly happy. Why is it so funny when people fall? I don’t even feel the slightest bit bad about posting this because we can’t identify who it is! Ann even asked her boyfriend to figure it out and he couldn’t. So…here you go. Random shot of anonymous dude falling face first onto the ice. I’m pretty sure that technically he wasn’t falling. He was more than likely diving to knock the puck away from the goal. But I’m still going to say he fell on the ice.

IMG_8812-faceplant

Hockey fans are a strange breed. No offense, of course, to my many friends who are hockey fans. Here’s something they do. When there is a minute left in any of the periods someone yells out, “How much time is left?” To which everyone is supposed to respond with, “One minute!!!” The crowd last night was not understanding these rules, but that didn’t stop one of the attendees (a friend of Ann’s, no less) from yelling it out each time. “How much time is left?”

::crickets::

Move along, folks. Nothing to see here.

Oh wait. There is something to see here:

IMG_8928

OK…it doesn’t look like he’s doing much of anything, but he really did a great job. I just happen to like this picture, so there ya go. One goalie just chillin’ and watching the goings on at the other end of the ice.

Close to the end of the game I turned to Michelle and said, “You know, their quads have GOT to be on fire!” Constant skating back and forth and back and forth. I had no sooner said that than Ann’s boyfriend when into this most peculiar pose. I snapped some shots and asked her what on earth he was doing. Stretching! Duh. Well, alrighty then. I guess my assessment of the quads being on fire was correct.

IMG_9197

I’m thinking that this is why Ann is such a hockey fan!

