Tags

Well, well, well. You know it snowed. That can only mean one thing. Time to remove the snow! It used to be a huge hassle to shovel the driveway, but not anymore. Now it’s just a minor hassle.

First off, you’ve gotta bundle up!

20130223_114954

Oh yeh! Looking good! (insert eye roll)

I guess  getting “bundled up” is all relative. A few years ago I’d have been in full winter coat, but I’m not cold blooded anymore so this is all it takes to go out in the snow. I ended up shucking the sweater after about half hour.

I used to have to shovel by hand but now I’ve got this:

20130223_142602

Now, before you start going, “What the hell is she whining about shoveling snow for??” Let me explain the process.

The scoop is attached to the wench. You can kind of see the red rope lying across the front left side (left if you’re sitting on the bike). With the scoop full and raised at the top position, you pull the red rope which releases the scoop and drops it to empty the snow (or whatever you’ve got loaded). Once the snow has dumped, you back up as you lower the wench. This drops the scoop back down so that it “catches” on the lever, allowing you to then raise the scoop and go back to where you’re going to remove the snow. You then lower the wench, which puts the scoop flat on the ground and you start pulling forward to fill the bucket.

Lather, rinse, repeat.

In a perfect world, you would never have to get off the ATV. We do not live in a perfect world.  Every couple of buckets full the snow would get packed inside and only the very top layer would dump. So every couple of buckets full I would dump it, get off the bike, walk around to the scoop and with my foot, swoopy swipe the snow out of the bucket. Then back around to get back on the bike.

Swing leg over the seat. Back up. Lower the wench to engage the scoop. Raise the wench. Drive to the place I left off. Lower the wench. Scoop until I can’t go forward anymore. Raise the wench. Back up. Drive to the dump off place. Pull the red rope (takes both hands when the bucket is full of wet snow). Swing the leg over the seat to dismount. Swipe the snow out with one foot or the other. Begin the process again.

Two and a half hours!

Towards the end I was really feeling the fatigue in my legs and core. I’m afraid I’m going to be sore in the morning. What’s weird is that my thumb is what’s painful. When I reverse I have to press the yellow button with my thumb to keep the wheels from spinning out as I go backwards. I press the wench button up and down with my thumb, too. I have to chuckle to myself that my thumb is what’s hurting.

The other weird thing? I kept hearing this beeping sound during the course of the snow removal. When I first noticed it I was trying to figure out where it was coming from. It finally occurred to me that the bike was beeping whenever I was in reverse with the yellow button pressed down. What do I look like? A dump truck!? So I learned something new about the bike. We’ve only had it for three years. I’m not sure what took me so long. Other than the fact that when we ride it’s usually NOISY out!

Good times. Beat the hell out the traditional snow shovel. And now I can get my car out of the driveway!

20130223_142524

 

Now I’m ready for the next storm….that should be rolling in on Tuesday!

 

