20130218_172706

Dinner’s ready!

As you know, I’ve been trying to cut back on my carbs and increase my lean proteins. Quinoa is one of the best ways to accomplish that. The problem is that Mark doesn’t really care for it. I’ll admit that is has a bit of a funny texture. To me it resembles fish eggs. Teeny, tiny fish eggs. However, because it’s such a high protein grain, I’m trying.

This evening I thought I’d do a fruit salad with the Quinoa. I’m not even going to pretend to give you a recipe because we all know how that works with me. I cooked the Quinoa according to the package directions (2 cups water, 1 cup quinoa, pinch of salt). Note to self, when rinsing Quinoa, make sure the sieve has holes that are smaller than the individual grains. Yeh. That took a while cleaning up the little balls of grain that were rolling all over my kitchen.

Get 1 1/2 cups together of strawberries, blackberries, and blueberries. You can really use any fruit that you want. The dressing you’ll make won’t detract from the taste of any fruit. Mango, peaches, raspberries. Whatever you want.

For the dressing (and this is where I really fudged) put 3 tablespoons of honey (I actually used the exact amount the recipe called for). Shocking! Juice from a lime. I did a few squirts of my lime juice from a jar. Mint leaves, finely chopped. I didn’t use mint leaves. I’m not a big mint person. So…you’re supposed to mix all that together to dress the salad. But I wasn’t done. I put in a couple teaspoons of rum. Shhh. Don’t tell my boss. I’ll be bringing leftovers to work. I also did a little orange zest (out of a jar…find it in your spice aisle). That’s the dressing.

When the Quinoa is chilled, add the fruit and stir it up well. Then drizzle the dressing over the top and stir it until everything is well coated.

I was making “mmmm, mmmm, yummy” noises.

For the rest of dinner I steamed some broccoli and fried some chicken.

For the chicken I sliced up a few chicken breasts into good sized strips and put it in a bowl of milk. In a different bowl I beat an egg. In a different bowl I did a mixture of corn meal, Italian seasoning, sage, salt and pepper. Use logical portions. Then I took a piece of chicken out of the milk, dipped it in the egg, then dredged it in the cornmeal mixture and put it into a frying pan with hot Canola oil. I think I cooked it for about five minutes per side.

Low carb. High protein. Best of all TASTY!

AND…..I’ve lost about six pounds since the second week in January. A pound a week. I’ll take it!

