Tags

Do you know how boring vegetables can be? Do you???? Oh mah gawd, so boring!! Sometimes I have a difficult time even wanting to eat them. Steamed broccoli. Steamed broccoli. Steamed broccoli. That is my repertoire of veggies. Don’t get me wrong. I love steamed broccoli. Really, I do! But over and over and over again and I just get tired of it. Not only that, but when I’m trying to eat veggies and a protein for every snack, steamed broccoli doesn’t quite cut it.

You know that I’ve been in withdrawals from being on a cruise, and my recently planned cruise has fallen by the wayside for another year. Mark and I were talking the other day about things we really like about cruising. One of them is the food! He mentioned the really cool different types of soups they would have on the menus and how much he loved trying them. Hot soups. Cold soups. Veggie soups. Fruit soups. And then something snapped in my brain. Why do I have to eat steamed veggies in order to get my daily recommended allowance? Why can’t I eat vegetables in a different form than straight out of the steamer.

Look at me. Thinking out of the box like that! So I started googling “Vegetable Soups.” I may have mentioned this before but let me just state it again for the record: I love Mr. Google!!

I thought I’d try something that I already know I like before jumping too far outside the box.

Cucumber Soup

This is a nice, light chilled soup. And super easy to make. I whipped a batch together in 25 minutes. From the time I cut into the onion to the time I poured the soup from the blender and into a bowl…25 minutes. Of course, it now has to chill for a few hours so it isn’t something that I would come home from work and whip up for dinner. But on a weekend when I’m getting my meals ready for the week, it’s totally easy to fit into cooking schedule.

The recipe:

  • 1 T. Extra virgin olive oil
  • 2 Cloves garlic
  • 1 T. Lemon juice
  • 4 c. Seeded cucumbers
  • 1 & 1/2 c. Vegetable broth
  • 1/2 tsp. Salt
  • 1/4 tsp. Pepper
  • Pinch of Cayenne pepper
  • 1 Avocado
  • 1/2 C. Plain yogurt

 

20130202_115002

Chop up the onions and garlic and sauté them in the EVOO until they’re tender. I have a confession to make:

20130202_115021

I use canned, pre-minced garlic. I’ve gone the route of buying garlic cloves and mincing them myself, but damn it if they don’t go bad before I get around to using the whole bulb. It’s too much work. So I cheat. Sue me.

20130202_115537

Once the garlic and onions are tender (I actually carmelize them because I love carmelized onions. I could eat them alone!) add the seeded, chopped cucumbers. I use the term “seeded” lightly because I do not go to great lengths to remove all the seeds. I just cut them in fourths and scrap down the center quickly. They’re going into the blender, for heaven’s sake, I think a few seeds won’t hurt anything.

20130202_115614

Add the cukes to the onions and garlic and then add the broth. I use store bought veggie broth, too. You’ll notice that the box of broth is more than one and a half cups, but don’t you worry. It won’t go to waste. I’m making gazpacho later in the week and will finish off the broth in that. 20130202_115810 20130202_120121

When you add the cukes and broth, you’ll add the salt, lemon juice (you’re right…I don’t squeeze fresh lemons, either), pepper, and cayenne. You’ll let this slowly boil until the cucumber is tender. Probably six to eight minutes.

20130202_120355

Here’s a little tip with the avocado. I can’t tell you how many times I have mutilated an avocado trying to remove the damned pit. If you firmly tap a knife into the pit…just hard enough for the knife to stick…then cup the avocado in your hand and with your other hand give the knife a little twist it will free the pit from the avocado, leaving your fruit unharmed. You’re welcome!

20130202_120945

Add half the veggie mix into the blender. Put the avocado in. Put the yogurt in (I used a full cup because I wanted the soup to be a little creamier). Put the rest of the veggies on top and then pour the broth in.

20130202_121026

Warning (and I hope you already know this): Be sure to remove the center part of your blender lid or you’re going to have trouble. Putting a lid on hot things and then blending does a funny thing to the pressure inside a container! I use a stack of paper towels to hold over the top of lid to keep it from painting the ceiling of my kitchen. Although… it is a nice color of green. Hmmm.

20130202_121419

That’s all there is to it. Put it into a bowl and let it chill. It’s fantastic! Easy. I have little serving size bowls with lids that I can separate it into once it’s cooled and then quickly grab my veggies for work throughout the week.

Last week I made Sweet Potato Soup that was out of this world. I didn’t do a blow by blow picture taking event because I wasn’t sure I’d like it, but I did take a picture of the final project. It was beyond delicious! I’ll post the recipe later in the week, but here’s the picture.

20130125_192328

Veggies for the win!!!

