Tags

,

Mark got home from work and first thing off goes, “Something has to be done with those bananas.” Normally this means, “I’d like some banana bread, please.” I said, “Yup. I’ll make banana pancakes for dinner.” He actually responded positively to that, which made me happy because pancakes are way easier than banana bread. Granted, I’ve never made banana pancakes before, but I have a basic buttermilk pancake recipe that I always use and it couldn’t be that difficult to adjust.

Mash the bananas. I used two because that’s what I had available that needed to be used up pretty quickly.

Here is the normal recipe that I use for my pancakes. I made a couple of adjustments because of the bananas, but I’ll explain that as we go along. The picture below is the finished batter.

Add two eggs in with the bananas and beat them. Then add 2 tablespoons of oil, 2 tablespoons of sugar, 1 and 1/3 cups of buttermilk. Whisk this all together. You could probably get away with not adding any sugar because you’ll get some sweetness from the bananas but sugar is in my basic pancake recipe so I’ve included it here.

In a separate bowl mix together your dry ingredients: 1 and 1/2 cups flour, 2 teaspoons baking powder, 1 teaspoon baking soda, 1/2 teaspoon salt. Add this to the milk/banana mixture. I pick and choose what type flour. For this particular recipe I used whole wheat flour. In the past I have used rice flour, oat flour and regular old white flour. The texture will be different depending on the flour that you use. Also, with the mashed bananas you will probably need to add an additional 1/2 cup of flour but start off with the basic measurements add extra if you need.

Drop the pancake batter onto a heated skillet. Cook it on one side until little bubbles form then flip them to cook on the other side. I set my electric skillet at 350. My poor old skillet. I really need a new one. It does not heat evenly. This shall be remedied toot sweet!

Now, I would be totally amiss if I didn’t tell you to make syrup. Ann would kick my ass. She fully believes that it’s wrong to eat pancakes with store-bought syrup. I clearly spoiled her rotten when she was a wee one. So…Syrup:

Put one part water to two parts sugar. Put that in a pot on the stove and let it come to a boil. Let it boil for about 5 minutes and turn the heat off. Then add some maple extract or maple flavoring. The amount depends on the sugar to water ratio you’ve used. For this, I used 1 cup water/2 cups sugar.  With that ratio I use about a teaspoon and a half of the maple flavoring. If you use maple extract use a little less or it’ll be too strong. Because I made banana pancakes, I also put a splash of banana extract in with the maple. Sounds weird. Tastes good.

It makes a fun sound when you add the flavoring. Not sure why the sound always tickles me but it does.

Once the pancakes and syrup are cooked, serve it up!  They were so good!!

