Tags

, , ,

Are you ready for a Cinderella story? Too bad. That’s not what this Pumpkin Ball is about.

I went down to hang with my nieces and nephews this past weekend. All the grown ups had places to be so Aunt Cristy came to the rescue. First off, they wear me out!! I forget how active little kids are. And I just sounded like an old woman saying that. Boo. Or maybe that should be Bibbity Bobbity BOO.

They wanted to play a game and requested Pumpkin Ball. It’s a combination of kick ball, wiffle ball, softball, and dodge ball. The pitcher (that was me) tosses the ball (a kickball) so that it hits the ground and bounces up and over the strike zone. The batter hits the ball, using an aluminum bat. Then they run bases. They don’t stop running bases even if the fielder has a hold of the ball. The fielder attempts to throw the kickball at the base runner a la wiffle ball. However, you don’t tag a base to get someone out. You MUST hit them with the ball as if you’re playing dodge ball. We played this for quite some time. By the end of the game all four kids were at home plate waiting to take their turn batting and Aunt Cristy ended up being the whole defensive team. That wasn’t a workout at all. ::eye roll:: The older of the nephews was a little concerned when we first went outside. I’m normally inside visiting with the adults when we go down there. He wasn’t sure if I’d be able to play. Before I tossed the first pitch he said, “You can move up a little if you want.” Poor kid doesn’t understand who he’s talking to.

After a while playing my youngest niece wanted to play in the pool so I told her we would do that as soon as we finished the last round so that everyone could have a fair turn. Well, they thought that I should get a turn at bat. It was only fair, after all. So my darling nephew who told me I could scoot up to pitch volunteered to pitch for me. I don’t believe he thought that I could hit the ball. I took my turn running bases and then we headed up to get ready for the kiddie pool. On the way up the hill he walks up to me and goes, “That was pretty good.” Yes. I can impress a ten year old!

We filled the pool and the kids all changed into their swim suits. As you can see, it’s a rather small pool. The four of them were sitting inside and there wasn’t a spare inch of room for them. My nephew, with a dead pan look on his face, hollers, “Marco!” Once I finished laughing I said, “Um, I don’t think that’s going to work.” He just smirked.

We had a great time together. I’ve got some pretty awesome nieces and nephews.

