Tags

I’m an idiot!

I  know you thought I was an idiot before, but this time I’m not joking!

This week I decided that I was going to do Couch to 5k week three over again. I just haven’t been feeling very comfortable with the three minute runs. I know, I know. Three minutes. You can do anything for three minutes, right? I missed my run Saturday (more about that tomorrow) and I was already struggling with the three minute intervals the previous two workouts so I figured that I was just better off doing week three again.

This brings me to today. Or this evening, which is when I do my workouts during the week. I set my treadmill like I always do for my five minute warm up at 3mph. During the 90 second run I set it for 5mph just like I’ve been doing since I began the program. At the end of 90 seconds I was sucking wind. And I shouldn’t be having this much trouble after being back into a good intensity workout regiment since April.

During the first 90 second walking interval I was mindlessly watching the stats on my treadmill go by when I noticed there was a 5.0 that kept cycling through and I thought, “What the hell am I doing at 5.0?” (besides running, but that indicator is on the other side of the treadmill). Well, my good folks. It is the incline setting. I have been running a fucking 5% grade hill!!!

Once that sank into my brain for a moment I decided that since I had been able to run at the 5% grade that I was going to leave it there and just notch the speed down. So I did my running segments at 4.5 mph instead of 5mph and it made a huge difference.

The good part of all this pain and agony is that I was noticing today my 3mph walking intervals that I have been doing didn’t feel like it was doing enough for me so I kicked that up to 3.5, so at least I feel confident that I’m making some sort of progress, even if it’s not at the pace that I would like to be making progress.

So, I’m walking faster, but running slower, but it’s on an incline so I feel good about the whole workout routine overall. I’m just sad that it took me so long to figure out why I was struggling so badly.

