Tags

,

Before you all jump in with a resounding YES, let me give you a little back story.

At work I was talking about the Couch to 5K program that I’m doing in an attempt to 1) lose weight, 2) get a little stronger, 3) feel that euphoria that every runner I know talks about after they’ve completed a good run. One of the girls that Iย  work with goes,ย “Running at our age is just stupid. It’s STUPID!”

Yes, I resisted the urge to bitch-slap her!

This is hard! I’m only in week two and it’s so hard. As I was running my last 90 second interval I was just thinking, “What the fuck am I doing this for?” I can’t even run 90 seconds without gasping for air. Not to mention the fact that my treadmill may be trying to kill me. I am getting better at manuevering on the treadmill but it’s awkward.

I’m sore.

I’m tired. I mean, not like I didn’t get enough sleep tired. I mean TIRED! My body is exhausted!

I feel like I’m doing it wrong. Like my gait is all wrong. Because if I were doing it right it would be easy, right? RIGHT!?

I’m frustrated. I know a lot of that has to do with recollections of my former “in shape” self, but I feel like it shouldn’t be this difficult.

My back is killing me. I know that’s because my core is pretty well shot after all my female issues and I’m doing yoga to try and help strengthen that. I try to remember to engage my core as I run so it’s not just flopping in the wind. So, actually, my aching back is one of the least of my worries because I understand what’s going on there.

Oh, and speaking of strengthening my core, I saw this on Twitter the other day and tried to do number three. Well, that was a good laugh. I got one arm off the ground and focused so hard to get the opposite leg up and nothing was happening. I really want to see somebody besides Jillian Michaels do those moves (except #2 – I can do #2).

Anyway, I digress. I’m just in a funk and feeling like I’m too old to start this whole running thing, but I know it’ll be good for me if I can do it.

Where’s that damned Easy Button?

