Tags

Twitter is the devil! I spent a little bit of time at the end of the day getting caught up and the conversation turned to banana nut bread. I had a bunch of bananas sitting on my counter that had really surpassed the brief one day window in which they are actually consumable! Not sure about anyone else, but a banana can’t be too green, and it can have NO brown spots on it. This leaves about a day (maybe two, if you’re lucky) where I can tolerate them. So banana nut bread seemed to be the logical choice.

Here we go:

Look at the blur of the whisk! I love that I’m not the one that has to beat the sugar (2 cups) and butter (1 cup) together. Once it’s nice and blended you add 4 eggs (one at a time, beating after each addition). If you have a garden, throw the egg shells into your compost. I rinse them off first, then put them in my compost bag where I put my coffee grounds each day.

Since I’m a total rule breaker, I added the bananas (six of them) before I added the flour, even though the recipe specifically says to add the premashed bananas after you’ve added the flour. What the hell! Who on earth adds bananas after the flour? That’s just wrong. So….bananas go in with the sugar/egg/butter mix! Then I added the salt (1/4 teaspoon), baking soda (2 teaspoons), and flour (4 cups). Mix that up until just blended.

The best part of the bread…the nuts! Again with the rule breaking. The recipe said 1 cup of finely chopped nuts. Screw that! (I just about told you how I like my nuts, but decided you’d take it the wrong way.) Pecans. I used pecans but you can use walnuts if you prefer.

Divide up between two loaf pans and place in the preheated oven (325 degrees). Set the timer for 75 minutes and go get your workout done (yup…week 2, day 1 of the couch to 5k). 

My oven is older than god and burns the bottom so I have to put everything on the top shelf if possible. I can normally finagle it so that I don’t burn everything. Don’t worry, I didn’t burn the bread. I’m just setting you up for the final picture!

 

I didn’t divide the batter evenly so the one loaf was a little taller than the other. It kind of got caught up on the top burner. The top coil doesn’t get too hot so it didn’t toast it but it did rip the top off when I pulled it out of the oven. Did not change the fact that it was more than fabulous!!! So good, in fact, that Mark and I damned near ate the whole loaf after it came out of the oven. Heaven!

