Tags

, ,

This is what I’m looking at right this very moment. This is something that I have been planning on doing since before I had my surgery to fix my draggy, saggy bladder. I thought April would be a great time to get started on the program because by then (according to my doc) all my energy should have returned. Laugh my fucking ass off! The doc had absolutely zero idea the energy level that I used to have. I did notice that I was getting a lot of my energy back, but April is gardening season.

Here’s the thing. Because you know there is always a thing. I’ve been getting my garden expanded, which means building a new bed, laying out weed barrier, shoveling rock. Holy shit, the amount of gravel that I have shoveled. (Side note: I’m watching the Ellen Show as I type this so I was half typing/half listening/half thinking and typed “struggled” instead of “shoveled.” That, my peeps, is a freudian slip!) Anyway. I have shoveled a lot of gravel. And I’m not done yet.

What has this got to do with beginning the Couch 2 5K program? Everything. The garden has to be finished and maintained. For maintenance we’re talking at least an hour a day. For finishing it, I still have at least one more load of gravel to bring in, possibly two. It takes me three hours to empty a truck load of gravel. Guess what that does to my workout plan? Yeh…it goes to hell!

Yesterday on line a couple people mentioned that they had started (or had completed)ย the Couch 2 5k program and one of them even challenged me to run a race with her in August.ย  I was determined. I was going to print out my C25K program and see what I needed to do. My plan today was to get the last of the weed barrier down and then do Week 1/Day 1 of the program. I thought (haha) that the weed barrier would take me an hour. That’s what I get for thinking. Two hours later (in 90 degree heat) I came back into the house sweating like a horse.

Guess where my energy is?

Anyone?

Anyone?

Yeah. I don’t know, but it is gone! Pretty sure I left it out in the garden.

So, I don’t know when I’ll start the program. I don’t know if I’ll ever run a race. Hell, I don’t know if I’ll ever run! What I do know is that my garden is looking fantastic and with what I’m accomplishing out there, I can’t beat myself up over not beginning the Couch to 5K program.

