Tags

, , ,

What a strange day. Actually, the day was fairly normal. I’ll qualify that by saying what a strange evening.

I took my walk around the lake like I normally do and there were a handful of people out. It was a little later than normal. I didn’t leave my house until 7pm because I was working in my garden and I got home from work late. I got a portion of the way around the lake and my bloodhound nose could barely stand the smell. I was struck that it smelled like death. It felt like death. So surreal. So still. So quiet. I was glancing around trying to make sense of the aura and so caught up in it that I didn’t notice the goose next to the water’s edge. The geese. Where were the other geese? This time of year the lake is full of geese and their babies. I stopped walking and looked at the large goose standing there perfectly still just looking back at me. As the goose and I watched each other I caught a motion out of the corner of my eye. There was a baby goose. One. Only one baby goose. Not the multiple families of geese, but one lone adult and one baby goose. I took a step closer to make sure my eyes weren’t playing tricks on me and they both moved…the baby away from me…the adult towards me. I stepped back and gave them the space required for me to not get mauled by the adult. So odd.

I continued on my path around the lake and was quite overwhelmed by the stillness of my surroundings. I’ve always joked with the girls at work that noise doesn’t bother me, but that silence is deafening. And the silence at the lake was deafening. Up the hill and around the corner and no sign of the happy little geese families that normally grow up there.

The lake was like glass. Not a ripple. Down the next hill and around another corner and I notice a ripple in the water. I watched the ripple and tried to see what was moving in the center of the ripple. I left the path to walk right next to the lake to get a closer look. It was a fish tailfin making slow circles. Just the fin. Sticking out above the water’s surface. Seriously, guys, I was ready to be home! I was so bothered.

I finished my loop around the lake and headed up to the main road to walk home and as I came up to the top of the hill the sun was just beginning to set. And it was gorgeous. A beautiful sunset.

How’s that for two extremes on one walk?

On top of the weird walk….I wrecked my car on the way home from work. Totally my fault. I was pulling out of the grocery store parking lot and there was no traffic coming either way so I pulled out. I didn’t even notice that there was a car in the median getting ready to make a left hand turn into the parking lot across the street from where I was. I’ve been in three accidents my entire life. One at age 16. Black ice + inexperienced driver = accident. Another accident in 1991. A guy ran a red light and T-boned me. I’ve had neck issues since that one. And then today. I’m ridiculously calm over the whole thing. I think *that* is what’s so bizarre. I’m not one to be calm under those circumstances, yet here I am….calm. It’s almost like I’m a mature adult or something!  Anyway..I’m fine. the girl in the other car is fine, although very freaked out. “My mom is  gonna kill me. My mom is gonna kill me.” She was early 20s and I said, “Just make sure that your mom knows it wasn’t your fault and that my insurance will cover the cost of the repairs.” She goes, “But I’ve always been a fuck up. My mom will never believe this wasn’t my fault.” I chuckled and said, “I’ve got one of those.” Hmm. She was just bawling so I hugged her and let her cry for a minute.

I guess all the planets are aligning for the final show-down that the Mayans have predicted!

