Tags

, ,

Everything comes in threes. And this is a bizarre set of three. I’d be curious if this kind of thing every happens to you.

Yesterday I was having a conversation with a friend of mine who had just gone through a difficult breakup. She was looking for words of wisdom, which I didn’t have, but I could share experiences with her. This, of course, meant going back in my brain to college when I lost someone that I thought would be the love of my life. It was very strange to talk about him again after all these years. It’s been decades since I’ve really given him much more than a passing thought.

Then today my friend, Slappy posted this on her website. I can’t hear that song or see that movie without thinking of him because Kevin Costner, in that movie, looks just like my former love. Shame on Slappy for posting it.

And if that weren’t enough, I hear this on the radio on my way home from work. “And I hope my hasty heart will forgive me just this once if I stop to wonder how on earth you are.”

It’s been this weird trifecta of nostalgia. I hope he has found the happiness in his life that I have.

