Now that I’m done with my treatment for the prolapse (finally….it’s been a long couple of years) there are still a number of things that need to be done. The first – and weirdest – is that I have to learn to pee again.  Odd, right? I remember back in the day before all this prolapse shit happened, I used to go three or four times a day. That was it. Not much when compared to going every single time I went from sitting to standing. Before I’d do anything I’d head to the bathroom. Because of that, my body has forgotten how to “hold it.” So I have to retrain myself. It sounds very bizarre. It’s called “Urge Suppression.” By doing this, I will be able to get back to the way I used to be. It’s like the final hurdle to cross (as far as the actual prolapse is concerned).

Here’s what you do:  When you first feel the urge to pee—

  • Stop what you are doing
  • Sit down, if possible, or stand quietly
  • Remain still (rushing to the bathroom may cause you to lose control of your bladder)
  • When you are still, the urge is easier to control
  • Squeeze your pelvic floor muscles quickly several times. (contract 2 seconds, relax for one second, 5-6 times in a row)
  • Relax the rest of your body
  • Take a few breaths to help you relax
  • Wait until the urge goes away

I’m supposed to try and get myself onto a schedule.

So…that’s one of the workouts that I’ll be doing. Sounds fun.

 

In addition to that, I seriously need to get back onto a workout routine. I normally weigh in on Tuesday mornings. Gives me a little time to recover from the weekends. So you’ll get an update on Tuesdays about my previous weeks’ workouts. There will also be pictures (warning), but not every week. I can’t imagine there will be enough changes on a weekly basis to make it worth my while to post pics.

My workouts are going to have to start pretty slow. The doc said that it was going to be a good twelve weeks post-op before I really felt like myself and had a relatively normal energy level. He said to make sure and listen to my body as I start a workout routine so that I don’t get frustrated and burned out. He asked when I planned on getting back to volleyball and I told him not until the fall because I wanted to have some time to build up some strength. He said that was a good idea and realistic time frame. So for now, I won’t be doing anything besides walking.  I will do that for the next four weeks and see where I am. At that point I may add some circuit training, but we’ll see. I don’t want to stress myself out. There has been enough of that over the past couple of years to last me a life time.

And now….off to the races.

