Surgery was scheduled for 8:30am tomorrow. This means nothing but liquids 24 hours prior (thank god it didn’t have to be CLEAR liquids). Nothing at all 8 hours prior. Was gonna sit in the hot tub tonight. Take a shower and scrub down with antibacterial soap. Shave my legs, et. al. Go to bed with wet hair. Wake up at the crack of dawn (before, actually). Jump into some comfy clothes, bringing nothing to the hospital with me but a picture ID and my insurance card.

That’s what the plan was. So I arose this morning and had a smoothie instead of my normal oatmeal and toast. Had some coffee. Had some water. Had my stupid Metamucil (yuck, but VERY effective). Had some more coffee. Had some more water. Had some milk. Got a call from the hospital confirming my arrival time of 6:30. Was asked if I had any questions. Nope. Fabulous. See you tomorrow morning.

A very well laid out plan. No time tomorrow morning to get hungry. Whee. For what it is, all was good with the world.

An hour later my phone rang again. “Hi. I’m really sorry to do this, but we’ve had to rearrange the surgical schedule and you’ve been pushed back til 11, so you won’t need to be in until 9. Any questions?”

Um, just one. You mean I could have eaten breakfast!?!?!?!?!?!?

I didn’t say it, but I really wanted to.

Trying to figure out what to have for dinner has been a trip. There’s broth. Chicken or beef. Hard to decide. I mentioned to Mark that I should have made up some jello last night. He volunteers to go get some. Sweet! He walks in the door, hands me two snack pack sized jellos and a spoon. I look at it then look back at him. “Sugar free? Are you kidding me!?!?!?!?!?!?!” Yeh….he’s not a label reader. He offered to go back to the store and get regular, after apologizing all over himself for the sugar free foo-fah.

*sigh*

Pardon me while I go and eat my delicious sugar free jello meal.

