Tags

,

At the request of my dear friend, I am going to show you some of my tricks of the trade. The trade being wrapping my presents. Because I am sometimes a little bass-ackwards, I’m going to show you the finished product first:

These will not be going under the tree until the last moment because the baby kitty loves nothing more than the sound of ripping paper. So…my friend asked how to make the bows.  How could I possibly say no?

First, you need ribbon that has the wire edging or it don’t work as well. You’re going to cut off a length of ribbon that will be used for the “tail.”

Next, you’re going to want to cut a longer length of the ribbon for the main part of the bow. (Note: I give directions for everything like I give recipes…a little of this, a little of that.)

You will want to make an “accordian” out of the longer piece of ribbon.

You can do a five loop or six loop bow. Hell, for that matter, you can do a ten loop bow if you want. In this example, I’m doing a five loop.

Once you get it accordianed, you’ll want to secure it with the “tail.”

See. You’ll put the “tail” in the center of the bow so that you have three loops on each side if you’re doing a six loop, or two/three loops on each side for five. You could do a four loop bow, but they look kind of whimpy. For me, five is the minimum you’ll want to do.

Tie it off.

Once you tie it off (I use a granny knot) it will look like a bow that you would tie your shoe laces with, only with multiple loops. You need to fluff up the ribbons.

This is the part that took me the longest to really figure out. Don’t get frustrated if you don’t get it perfect the first time. It does take a little practice.  And a LOT of patience. Patience is not my strong suit, and if I can figure it out, anyone can.

If you cut the ends at an angle it’s nice and pretty. Give it a whirl, folks. It adds a little something special to any Christmas present!

